Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


I am now semi-retired, having previously been Head of Biology and Head of Science in a grammar school and sixth form centre.
I have a degree in Human Biology from Oxford Brookes and attended medical school in Southampton for a year before deciding that this was not for me. I took my PGCE at London University Institute of Education, originally teaching Biology and Integrated Science. Once I started teaching, I knew that this was the right choice and have enjoyed all the different roles I have played.

I have 2 dogs and 3 cats.

Tutoring Experience

I have over 30 years teaching experience, at all levels from primary to degree. My specialist subject is Biology, which I have taught extensively up to A level and in first year undergraduate courses, but I also taught in Special Needs for several years. I have taught a variety of subjects in addition to Biology and have experience of working as a Home Tutor for my local education authority. I have been a Teaching and Learning Coach for other teachers.

Tutoring Approach

I like to create a calm, friendly atmosphere in which students are not afraid to ask questions and try out ideas. I use a wide range of resources and can adapt my teaching to suit the learner's individual style; the teaching will respond to the particular needs of the student. I generally tutor in my home so as to have a range of resources available and I aim to make learning as enjoyable as possible whilst achieving the desired outcome.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


London University Institute of Education1982PGCEPGCE
Oxford Brookes University1979BachelorsBSc Hons IIi
Southampton University Medical School1975Bachelorsfirst year only
Wimbledon High School1974School9 O-levels, 4 A-levels

Rosemary's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Subjects taught