First Tutors is a service that helps you find a great tutor. Use the Search form below to find a match from thousands of quality tutors. For any support needed or questions, please refer to our Contact Us Page, we are happy to help. If you prefer to speak with an education advisor about a personalised tutor match, please call Varsity Tutors UK at 0203 962 1468, to connect with an education advisor.
If you prefer to speak with an education advisor about a personalised tutor match, please call Varsity Tutors UK at 0203 962 1468, to connect with an education advisor.


Online Maths and English Lessons

I studied for and was awarded a BA (Hons), and a Certificate of Postgraduate Study at Cambridge University between 1988 and 1993 in "Natural Sciences," specializing in Chemistry and Maths. I obtained a PhD from Birmingham University in Mathematical Chemistry in 1996. I did a lot of undergraduate teaching during this time.

I then worked as a Research Fellow at the Universities of Oxford, Exeter, and Sussex. As an "added extra" I was awarded an MA from Cambridge University a few years after graduating, and from Oxford University when I worked there. Between 1999 and 2011 I had a very fulfilling creer as a Senior Lecturer in Mathematics in Newcastle.

I have been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, a Member of the Institute of Physics, and a Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

If you need help with ~~~~~~~~ Subject-specific tuition ... Study skills ... University entrance ... Essays ... English language ... Welsh ... Literacy skills ... Exam technique ... Assignments ... Homeworks ... Reports ... Projects ... Proof-reading ... Dissertations ... Theses ... Corporate training ~~~~~~~~ Whatever your educational needs, I am a friendly, highly-qualified, experienced, and effective tutor, and I am here to help you to achieve your goals at your own pace and in your own way.

I offer educational services at all levels (Introductory / GCSE / A-Level / University Entrance / Undergraduate / Postgraduate), for individuals or groups, at very reasonable rates.

Due to Coronavirus I've been continuing to work very successfully with lots of students over the internet, and would like to continue this until things are completely safe for everyone.

It has also proved very convenient for the tutees to work in the comfort of their own homes at times that suit them. Using online platforms such as Zoom or Skype actually works very well. I have a tablet and stylus so I can write like on a shared whiteboard. Working remotely like this means I'm able to help people from all over the UK, and even further afield!

I also have a wealth of materials which I can supply by e-mail or file-share throughout the time we're working together, including notes, "flashcards" and exam questions (and answers!), depending on the subject. So, the learner will never be short of things to think about and work through.

Why not get in touch at your convenience to discuss getting started together on the journey towards achieving your desired education or study goals in the best possible way?

Tutoring Experience

I have taught at Cambridge, Sussex, Birmingham, Exeter, and Oxford Universities (Physics / Chemistry), and at Northumbria University (I was Senior Lecturer in Maths). I have lectured in Philosophy in the Adult Education Department of Swansea University, and am now a Tutor in Welsh for Adults there.

I have been tutoring privately since I first graduated in 1991 and have doing this full-time in a self-employed capacity since 2011. For many years I was employed very successfully as a senior lecturer, so have had lots of practice in communicating! I have a great deal of experience and am extremely well-prepared in terms knowledge of the subject-matter, ability to work together with students, and resources of all kinds for teaching and practice.

CYMRAEG: Dechreuais i ddysgu'r Gymraeg dros ddeng mlynedd yn ôl erbyn hyn yn Nhŷ Tawe yng Nghanol Dinas Abertawe. Rwy wedi astudio cyrsiau i oedolion yn cynnwys Mynediad, Sylfaen, Canolradd, Uwch 1 a 2, Meistroli, a Graenus 1 a 2. Yn 2017 'nes i sefyll arholiad CBAC o'r enw "Tystysgrif Uwch mewn Cymraeg Ail Iaith: Defnyddio’r Gymraeg" ("Safon Uwch") -- Enillais i "ragoriaeth" yn yr arholiad hwn. Dw i wedi ennill "Tlws Rhyddiaith y Dywgwyr" yn yr Eisteddfod Genedlaethol, a'r Gadair yn Eisteddfod Bae Abertawe i Ddysgwyr. Rwy'n dwlu ar y Gymraeg, a dweud y gwir, ac rwy wastad eisiau dysgu mwy a defnyddio'r iaith!

WELSH LANGUAGE: I am currently a Tutor in Welsh for Adults at Swansea University. I have also worked privately and very successfully on GCSE Welsh Lang and Lit, and with many adult learners starting on CBAC/WJEC Mynediad/Entry as well. In 2020 I was nominated for an "Inspire! Teaching Award" for this work, and in 2022 for the "Chancellor's Award" at Swansea University by my students. I am happy to work with Welsh-medium students, and can certainly help with answering exam-questions and so on. However, all my teaching materials for SCIENCE and MATHS are in English, and would work IN ENGLISH for Chem, Phys, Biol, and Maths. For Welsh Lang / Lit I am happy to help with practice through the medium of Welsh.

I am active in Swansea as organiser of “Swansea Philosophy / Athroniaeth Abertawe” community philosophy group, whose motto is “Exploring philosophy and building community together in Swansea.”

I have published many (English-language) poems in the local press, and a large volume of work in Welsh and English on a pioneering bilingual website.#/k#

Tutoring Approach

I love expressing creativity through learning and understanding new things, and strive to excel in sharing insight and in helping others to succeed in all their educational goals.

Education is a great gift and can be a wonderful experience under the right conditions for teacher and learner. I have received training in teaching and learning which, together with my extensive experience informs the ways I work with students / tutees / learners.

My approach is to work alongside learners with the aim of facilitating them to discover and develop their own most suitable strategies and techniques for achieving their goals. These goals can be very diverse: to feel more confident, to boost grades, to improve general skills, to pass specific exams, to gain entry to Universities, to write better reports, or to master specific subjects or areas.

For me, “good learning” is not just about “passing the exam” but also about developing skills which are genuinely enriching to the individual, and useful throughout life. And, “good learning” does not have to be a “hard slog”– it can be “fun” whilst also achieving serious and lasting results.

My main drive is a huge personal curiosity and a desire to explore, develop, and express creativity; to expand my understanding and insight; and to help others to do the same and become fully-rounded individuals who contribute and enrich the lives of others and society in general.

I am very down-to-earth, friendly, open, and approachable. I always take into account the learner's age, experience, starting-level and needs, and am very hard-working and adaptable in finding new and appropriate ways to get the required results for each individual.

I regularly ask for detailed feedback on my own performance as an educator, and on the students' experience as learners in order to fine-tune my activities to optimise outcomes. I “do my homework” each week, too! I am also happy to be available (as appropriate) for telephone, e-mail, or e-conferencing consultations between face-to-face sessions to facilitate the learning experience.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Latin
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Oxford University1997MastersMA (Oxon)
Birmingham University1996DoctoratePhD (Birmingham)
Cambridge University1993MastersCertPgSt, MA (Cantab)
Cambridge University1991BachelorsBA (Hons)

Patrick's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)4
Rating from 3 references


Click here for more Welsh tutors