Emma

Emma

Newton-le-Willows Tutor

My name is Emma. I have a Journalism degree from the University of Lincolnshire and Humberside. I hold a Certificate in Education (FE) and QTLS (Secondary). I am also an examiner for AQA and IBO. I hold a current DBS enhanced disclosure certificate (2016). Friendly, approachable tutor with over ten years experience.

Tutoring Experience

I am currently a English Teacher / Personal Coach at a city centre secondary school. I can teach GCSE English Language and Literature, A Level English Language, Functional Level and Primary Level Maths and English. I can also teach History, Business Related subjects and Media and Film Studies up to A Level.

I have experience of working and communicating with different groups of students (with or without challenging behaviour) and this has been evident in my current role where I have been flexible in my approach and taught one and two year courses since I took up the position. I can guarantee that your grade will improve in your time spent with me. I recommend one hour of tuition a week for at least a month. Please only book lessons with me if you or your son or daughter are serious about learning. I can provide a number of testimonials if needed.

Please also note that if you book a lesson with me and then something comes up and you need to cancel or re-schedule the duration of the lesson then I understand but I still need 24 hours notice. If I do not receive 24 hours notice then you will still need to pay for the lesson.

Tutoring Approach

My approach to tutoring is simple; I teach for understanding and I focus heavily on developing essay writing skills. Many pupils attempt to learn by simply memorizing facts. This only works for gaining marks at the lowest level; to achieve the top grades an ability to analyse and evaluate is essential. These are the skills I help to develop in my students by targeting my lessons to suit the learning style of the individual student. In addition, I focus heavily on teaching the basic techniques for answering exam questions. I prefer to tutor in my home as it is a pressure free environment and as I am also currently learning to drive. The student can either bring work for me to go through with them or I will provide work for the learner to complete. Please just specify which you would prefer when setting up lessons. It is more beneficial if you travel to me due to my property being a pressure free environment. Please feel free to contact me to make an initial enquiry where I can answer any initial questions you may have. I also offer lessons via Face Time. PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE MY DETAILS IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT SETTING UP LESSONS! No time wasters! Please note that once you have confirmed a booking with me you will need to attend. If you are unable to attend then you need to give me 24 hours notice of your intention to cancel or re-schedule. If I don't receive this notice then you will still be required to pay for the lesson. And please read what others have said about my services. I have some very happy customers which I'm very proud of. Please note you will need to drop off your son or daughter for the hour and then return. Upon your return I will give you a full update of what was covered in the lesson, any homework tasks set and when our next lesson will be.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL LANCASHIRE2008PGCECertificate in Education
UNIVERSITY OF LINCOLN2001ProfessionalBA (Hons) Journalism, Cerificate in Education (Post Compulsory)
INSTITUTE FOR LEARNING2014QTSQTLS

Emma's Feedback

Feedback
55
Published feedback
51
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)4
Emma
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£27
Secondary£27
GCSE£28
English
Primary£27
Secondary£27
GCSE£27
A-Level£27
University£27
Casual Learner£27
History
Secondary£27
GCSE£27
Entrance Exams
Secondary£28
GCSE£27
A-Level£27
University£27
Casual Learner£27
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£27
Secondary£27
GCSE£27
University£27
Casual Learner£27
Media / Communication Studies
Secondary£27
GCSE£27
A-Level£27
University£27