Charlotte

Charlotte

Kingston upon Thames Tutor

I am an experienced personal tutor with an MA in English from Oxford and a PhD. I have a strong record of success at all levels, from 11+ through GCSE to A2, as well as with young children and adults. My pupils include those with dyslexia or whose first language is not English. I am familiar with SATs and independent schools' entrance exams, and have a TEFL qualification. A distinctive aspect of my work is the high quality of individually tailored materials I produce both for use in lessons and for each pupil's complementary study alone.

As well as supporting pupils who are in school, I have put several pupils who are out of school (for one reason or another) through English Language and Literature GCSEs and A-levels, taking sole responsibility for managing their learning and exam preparation.

I have a current CRB certificate.

Tutoring Experience

I am happy to teach English at any level:

  • for exams (SATs, 11+, independent school entrance, GCSE, A-level, degree);
  • for stimulation and enrichment (for example, to those children whose parents feel they are not getting all they need in class);
  • to improve the level of schoolwork generally (for example, focusing on writing, comprehension and essay-structuring in subjects other than English);
  • reading and writing beyond education (for example, where English is a second language, or a particularly challenging task in the way of, say, a job application or formal statement is being faced).

I also teach verbal and non-verbal reasoning; and subjects other than English (including Maths and French) at primary- or prep-school level.

Tutoring Approach

The purpose of a private tutor is to address individual problems and goals. My work will support schoolwork (where appropriate) by providing a fresh approach and a lively and friendly personal engagement. Whilst always bearing in mind the arc of a pupil's needs, especially when approaching an exam, I plan each lesson only after the last. This enables me to focus continually on how to help individuals move forward. I have a wide range of materials and am constantly creating and discovering more.

Formerly a registered child-minder, I find that some of the qualities needed in either field serve both: energy and reliability, of course; but also an ability to assess needs, flexibility in responding to them, and ease in relating to children of all ages.

The charges published opposite are for continuous tuition (for a period or indefinitely). I am very happy to adapt to the needs of those pupils who want to observe school holidays or who want irrregular or occasional sessions.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Westminster College, Oxford1992DoctoratePhD (English)
Middlesex Polytechnic1990CollegeGraduate Research Diploma
University of Oxford1979BachelorsBA English Language and Literature 2:1
Camden School for Girls1975SchoolA-levels in English, French and Ancient History

Charlotte's Feedback

Feedback
76
Published feedback
76
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Charlotte
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£30
English
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£30
Casual Learner£30
Entrance Exams
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£30
Casual Learner£30
Special Needs
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£30
Casual Learner£30
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£30
Casual Learner£30
Study Skills
Primary£30
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£30
Casual Learner£30