Skip to main content

Information About William - Kensington tutor -

Profile Picture

William's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated William:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

William offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00£38.00
Secondary £40.00£38.00
GCSE £40.00£38.00
A-Level £40.00£38.00

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00£38.00
Secondary £45.00£42.75

German

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £45.00£42.75
GCSE £40.00£38.00
A-Level £40.00£38.00
University £40.00£38.00
Casual Learner £40.00£38.00

History

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00£38.00
A-Level £55.00£52.25

Russian

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00£38.00
GCSE £40.00£38.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £40.00£38.00
13 Plus £40.00£38.00
14 Plus £40.00£38.00
University £40.00£38.00

Map Location

Map for William

Personal Description:

I am an experienced tutor and Cambridge graduate offering both in school and private tuition tailored to pupils' interests, strengths and learning styles. I have 4 years of experience tutoring on a full time basis, both one on one and in a classroom/group setting in schools. I tutor German, History, Russian and Maths to GCSE and A Level (including further Maths). Teaching is a passion of mine, and I love to see students gain confidence in a subject they used to think impossible, or get to explore an area in more depth than at school.

For A Level I studied Maths, History , German and French (AAAA). At university I studied German and Russian (specializing in German and spending my year abroad in Berlin), as well as taking papers in intellectual and political History from the History faculty for my finals. I have also very much been involved in competitive debating: I have won or been a finalist in numerous national competitions and currently run a debating society at a local school.

I have strong academic interests, particularly in History and contemporary politics. On the lighter side of things of things I am a avid fan of comedy and political dramas.

Before tutoring, I used to work as a translator.

Tutoring Experience:

My teaching experience includes:

- Full time employment at a London state school as an intervention tutor, running additional classes for students in Maths GCSE (**Telephone Number Removed** Employment at the same school to teach the A level further Maths pure modules (FP1, FP2, FP3), including one student who managed to gain a place to study Mathematics at Cambridge University.
- Tutoring a large number of students taking GCSE and A Level Maths with a record of very high attainment,
- Tuition for 4 students taking GCSE German, for one of whom as their sole teacher. Results were A*, A*, A, B.
- Working as a teacher at the Global Young Leaders summer school. This course was aimed at teenagers interested in politics and debating.
- Work with younger students to successfully apply for independent and grammar schools at 11 and 13+. These include places and scholarships at Dulwich College, Alleyn's, Whitgift, Newstead Woods, Westminister School and Tonbridge School.
- Two adult learners, one learning basic Russian, one brushing up on Maths for the Professional Skills Test required to become a teacher.
- GCSE Russian to three students
- Four students taking History A Level, results were (A*, A, A, C)
- EFL tutoring in German, where tutees included a student who successfully applied to study for postgraduate study at Oxford and a professional interpreter
- Running debate workshops for the Cambridge Union

Tutoring Approach:

Alongside thoroughly covering syllabus material, I believe it is important to focus on key skills: for Maths, breaking down tricky concepts in as simple and intuitive a way as possible, and practising their application, for History communication, argument construction and analysis, andin the case of language tuition, confidence and fluency as well as a solid grasp of the basic grammar and vocabulary.I aim to offer lessons which provide solid, structured exam preparation which are nonetheless stimulating and intellectually rewarding for a wide range of students. I believe that the best way to do this is in a considerate way, which encourages rather than demotivates students, with a sensitivity to a lack of confidence students may have in a given subject.

Please note that for longer lessons (e.g 2 hrs) I am happy to agree to discounts on the hourly rate.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (2013) - Modern and Medieval Languages (German and Russian, II.i) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • St Dunstan's College (2008) - 4 A-Levels: French (A), German (A), History (A), Mathematics (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • St Dunstan's College (2006) - 10 GCSEs in total, 9 at A*, 1 at A (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Kensington Maths tutor, Kensington English tutor, Kensington German tutor, Kensington History tutor, Kensington Russian tutor, Kensington Entrance Exams tutor, Kensington Primary Maths tutor, Kensington Secondary Maths tutor, Kensington GCSE Maths tutor, Kensington A-Level Maths tutor, Kensington Primary English tutor, Kensington Secondary English tutor, Kensington Secondary German tutor, Kensington GCSE German tutor, Kensington A-Level German tutor, Kensington University German tutor, Kensington Casual Learner German tutor, Kensington GCSE History tutor, Kensington A-Level History tutor, Kensington Secondary Russian tutor, Kensington GCSE Russian tutor, Kensington Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Kensington Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Kensington GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Kensington University Entrance Exams tutor