Varsha

Varsha

Hartlepool Tutor

I am a teacher and a mother of 2 children who are now doing Medicine and Psychology at University. I love cooking and entertaining. I like travelling and spending time with my family.
Prior to teaching I was an Assistant Psychologist in the NHS. I have also done private counselling with children and adults.

Tutoring Experience

I teach A level Psychology and Health and Social Care. I have been a teacher for the last 14 years. I have also been an examiner for AQA board for the last 7 years. This has helped me guide my students understand the exam techniques and how to improve their skills. I also teach Health and social care to Year 9,10 and 11.I have also recently started teaching Spanish to Year 7.

I have also tutored in the past and have helped students get the grades that were required by their University

Tutoring Approach

Due to my experience as a Psychologist and a Teacher, I firmly believe that it is important to first develop their confidence in their subject knowledge. I also look at individual strengths which will help them to cope with the pressure and deal with it positively. My approach is to make the student feel comfortable and enjoy the learning as this will boost their self esteem. I always break down the topic to make it easier to understand and give help sheets so they can practice it at home whatever they learn during the session. As an examiner I provide an insight into how to approach exam questions and how to obtain good grades. I am very passionate about teaching and enjoy it.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

OpenUniversity1995OtherDiploma in Psychology
Northumbria University2009QTSGraduate Teacher Programme
Teesside University1993OtherDiploma in Social Work

Varsha's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Varsha
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Psychology
A-Level£22
Health / Social Care
A-Level£22