Skip to main content

Information About Tom - Raynes Park tutor -

Profile Picture

Tom's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Tom:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Tom

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm Tom, and I'm an in-home private tutor, based in South-West London. One of my passions is teaching and investing in people - seeing them grow in skill and confidence and reaching their full potential. I absolutely love doing what I do!

Tutoring Experience:

I've been working as a professional, full-time tutor for three years now, teaching not only maths but piano, guitar and ukulele as well. In this time I've gained enormous experience of teaching in all sorts of situations and environments. Most of the work I do is at people's homes, but I've also worked in schools and even in a centre for learning with a young student temporarily out of school. Over the years I've taught students of all ages, from young children to older teenagers to adults - I love the variety!

Over the last three years I've successfully tutored numerous GCSE and A-level mathematicians. This includes both high-achievers aiming for the top grades and students who in no way enjoyed or liked maths but nevertheless needed a good grade. One highlight was a GCSE student who, for various reasons, was initially struggling to even pass any of his maths tests - I was told they would be absolutely delighted with a C. Fast forward the clock 6 months however, and they completely deservedly achieved a B. I also worked with a GCSE student last year who was out of school, trying to bring his maths up to speed for his exams. In the end he got the grade he needed which was a huge achievement, and another highlight for me.

I also have a number of regular primary school/early secondary school aged piano and guitar students - most of these children started learning from scratch, and it's been a real joy to see them still steadily improving with a consistent enthusiasm to learn. Some are currently going through different grade schemes, and some take it a bit more leisurely and we simply learn whatever songs they want to learn. One student I taught ukulele for a bit as a precursor to guitar, and she now learns the guitar and is making fantastic progress. I also have experience teaching adults who have much to their credit decided it's never too late too learn!

Tutoring Approach:

I seek to get across what I'm teaching in a way that is accessible and understandable to the student. Sometimes this means explaining things with a bit more depth and giving more context to what's being learnt; sometimes this means giving specific examples that illustrate clearly what needs to be learnt; sometimes this simply means taking things right back to the basics and starting from there. At the same time as this, I strongly believe in the value of encouraging and affirming the student in their own talent and capability. My aim is not to do work for them, but to give them the tools and the confidence to tackle problems on their own.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Southampton (2013) - 2:1 BSc (Hons) Maths with Music (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Raynes Park Maths tutor, Raynes Park Music tutor, Raynes Park Primary Maths tutor, Raynes Park Secondary Maths tutor, Raynes Park GCSE Maths tutor, Raynes Park A-Level Maths tutor, Raynes Park Casual Learner Maths tutor, Raynes Park Primary Music tutor