Skip to main content

Information About Thomas - Wolverhampton tutor -

Profile Picture

Thomas's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Thomas:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00

Personal Description:

I am employed as a Mathematics teacher by a highly successful over-subsribed secondary school in Wolverhampton, where I have also taken up a role as a Lead Practitioner. I'm a reliable and punctual person, I pride myself on being approachable and understanding. I am passionate about Mathematics, and this is clear from my teaching. I pride myself on my results obtained, both from tuitions and from my classes at school.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a fully qualified and practising secondary Mathematics teacher. I'm entering my ninth year of teaching, where I have been at my current school for over seven years. I have also been a Lead Practitioner. I have been judged as 'Outstanding' by Ofsted criteria.

I teach students of all abilities, and have been tutoring one-to-one for several years. I have experience of teaching all major exam boards including AQA, Edexcel and OCR. I have also taught GCSE Statistics as well as the AQA Certificate in Level 2 Further Mathematics. I have taught A-Level Maths Mechanics 1 and 2, as well as Core 1 to 4, and currently teaching the new A-Level.

I'm an examiner for AQA and EdExcel for GCSE Higher and Foundation. I most recently marked the June 2018 series for AQA.

I have previously tutored students through their GCSE's or are currently tutoring students from the following schools: S. Peter's Collegiate, Wolverhampton Girls' High, Wolverhampton Grammar School, The Royal School, Smestow, Codsall High, Thomas Telford, Adams Grammar and Highfields School.

I have a proven record of improving pupils results as a result of one-to-one tuition. I am also up-to-date on delivering the new more challenging KS3, GCSE and A-Level, as well as the new grading system. I have worked on implementing this at my school.

Tutoring Approach:

I always aim to create safe and friendly learning environment encouraging pupils to become more confident in the subject.

I am very patient and have the ability to explain concepts in many ways to ensure pupils understand and progress. I ensure that pupils gain the confidence in the subject, and this allows for excellent progression.

Each lesson is clearly planned around the ability of the pupil, and clear measurable goals are identified, so pupils can see they are progressing.

I aim to quickly identify strengths and weaknesses and then strategies for overcoming these difficulties.

I’m happy to tutor groups of 2 or 3 also. Please enquire for further information.

*Please note I'm away on holiday until 31st August, so there maybe a delay in returning your query. I have limited availability for the 2018-19 academic year. I do have a 6pm ish slot avaiable in Wombourne on a Tuesday.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • School (2014) - Safeguarding Level 1 (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Department for Education (2012) - Secondary Mathematics Teacher (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • University of Wolverhampton (2011) - Secondary Mathematics Teacher (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Wolverhampton (2010) - Mathematics Degree 2.1 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Wolverhampton Maths tutor, Wolverhampton Secondary Maths tutor, Wolverhampton GCSE Maths tutor, Wolverhampton A-Level Maths tutor