Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


Maths and English Tutoring in Aboyne

I am an experienced private tutor with over 10 years' experience. I have been active in learning and teaching environments for the past 20 years both as student and as teacher. I have a 1st class Honours Degree in Zoology as well as a number of other academic and professional qualifications that all contribute to my skill and ability as a tutor and person. I pride myself on my natural ability to communicate and connect with children - all my previous and current students are at ease and comfortable with me and parents have relayed how keen their children are to attend lessons with me. I believe this trust stems from the fact that I permit a certain level of individualism and a degree of leeway in lessons, encourage individual approach and praise each and every effort and attempt. There is a saying about Children Learn what they Live which states: "If children love with approval and recognition they well learn to like themselves and learn it is good to have a goal". I believe that as a tutor my responsibility is not only to teach them a subject but to help them realise their full worth and potential.

Tutoring Experience

I have tutored for 12 years, initially at university to mature and first-year students for two years and then in a private capacity as a Private/Personal tutor for 10 years. At university, after I completed my degree in Zoology, I tutored English writing skills, exam skills and was an Associate Lecturer in the Academic Achievement Teaching Unit where I hosted an online Access course. I have been tutoring Math and English for the past 10 years to tutees aged 7 to 15 years as well as Biology on a more occasional basis to tutees preparing for their Nat 5's and Highers.I specialise in Secondary Maths (S1, S2, S3, Nat 4, Nat 5 and Highers) and offer targeted Pre-lim and Exam preparation and skills.

Tutoring Approach

My method is based on creative learning & application techniques employing colour, pictures, stories and physical activities.

I tutor at my home where I have all the materials and teaching aids I need to deliver lessons that are suited to my tutees specific requirements and needs. I also find that students respond better in this environment then at home where there are usually many distractions such as TV/games, siblings etc. I also subscribe to a host of online Math home-learning sites such as 10Ticks and IXL where tutees receive their own, individual courses created by myself based on their individual math level and math requirement. There are over 1000 worksheets, guides and quizzes via this medium and my tutees fully embrace it. It is also considerably useful during school holidays or days when lessons cannot be attended as the tutees can access their course at home.

I have had happy success with previous and current students and will be happy to provide their details if you wish to speak them.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Afrikaans, Dutch
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


University of Dundee: AATU2008ProfessionalAcademic Achievement Teaching
University of Dundee2008BachelorsZoology
University of Dundee2004OtherScience Access
Tshwane University - South Africa1993CollegePublic Relations

Tanja's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references


Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!