Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Tahira

Tahira

Private Maths and English Tutor in Edmonton

I am a self-employed professional tutor with over 2500 hours of tutoring experience. In conjunction with this, I work for Bonus Macfarlane and Dukes Education, two of London’s most respected tuition agencies.
I have graduated from Imperial College London with and Upper Second Class Honours in Biochemistry with Management. I have extensive experience tutoring and preparing students for their entrance exams into multiple reputable and prestigious private schools and my success rate continues to increase.

These schools include Harrow School, Knightsbridge School, Westminster School and Wycombe Abbey School just to name a few.

I began tutoring aged 17 and I specialise in Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Entrance Exam preparation (11+ and 13+). I have also tutored English to younger age groups in the UK as well as being an English Instructor while I lived in France. In addition, I have tutored Verbal Reasoning and Non-Verbal Reasoning.

I have found tutoring emotionally and intellectually fulfilling. Tutoring has allowed me the opportunity to make a difference in a student’s life. I have been able to create meaningful relationships with young people who look to me for guidance. It also requires me to feed and energise my brain regularly, keeping me intellectually and mentally stimulated. Educating others makes me feel proud, confident and fulfilled and combining that with the fact that I am paving the road for someone else to hopefully get that same kind of fulfillment means that education benefits everyone involved.

Tutoring Experience

I have been tutoring for 5 years, both personally and over Skype, with my students ages ranging from 5-18 years. As well as one-on-one tutoring I have also tutored in a centre and taught classes.
I have over 1500 hours of experience tutoring Mathematics for students in Primary school all the way up to A level. I have tutored Maths GCSE extensively.

I have over 300 hours of Biology and Chemistry tutoring experience.

I have 300 hours of experience tutoring English to children in Primary School.

I have 100 hours of Non-verbal and Verbal reasoning tutoring experience.

Tutoring Approach

Being a good tutor requires many different qualities, which I believe I possess. Firstly, I am adaptable so will be able to plan sessions, but adjust to meet special learning needs of students as I become aware of them. I will be able to adjust the pace of work to fit the needs of tutees and I’ll be willing to go over material several times but change the presentation method to fit students needs.
I am patient. Being patient is important because each student learns at a different pace and there are certainly some students that test patience but I understand that sometimes, the most trying student is the one that has the most potential, if I find myself with a difficult student I will stick with it, have patience and be the best tutor that I can be.
Passion is another quality that I have, I am passionate about science and maths and because of this I believe I will have a love for teaching these subjects which will help my student to feel that their success is very important to me and that what I am teaching them is important.

My lessons are usually constructed as follows:

I start with a mini lesson on a particular subject.
I do practice questions with my student while still allowing them to take the lead so that they can practice appropriate methods and gain some confidence.
Then i give them a worksheet to complete by themselves towards the end of the lesson to see what they have learnt and gauge their understanding of the particular topic.
I will mark these questions, give them their corrections to tackle by themselves, if they are unable to correct some of the answers or still get them wrong, then I will show them the appropriate method, making sure that they understand.
Generally, at the end of the lesson, I will give them homework.

Sometimes I have tutored students whose academic levels are higher than that of their age mates. Therefore, I provide them with questions and teach them topics above their age group in order to make sure that they are challenged enough.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Imperial College London2016Bachelors2:1 in Biochemistry with Management
Tahira
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism