Skip to main content

Information About Joy - Hailsham tutor -

Profile Picture

Joy's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Joy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Joy

Personal Description:

I am a qualified primary teacher and mum of two children, friendly, kind and practical.

One of my children has an eye condition and I am investing in training for this area.

I am offering lessons for children aged 4-8 or of a similar level at school as I have most experience here. I prefer to meet up with you to discuss your needs after the introduction fee has been paid and before the first lesson. This session is not counted as a lesson, just a getting to know you chat for free.

Lesson times - I have a Wednesday afternoon slot free starting at 4.30pm for one hour. I can travel to you. The cost is the introduction fee and one lesson at thirty pounds as I am an experienced and qualified teacher. If you wish to continue the cost is a set of three weekly lessons at ninety pounds payable before the first lesson in the set starts. We can continue with a set of four lessons payable up front, as wished. More lessons are available after the eight weeks are complete, if you would like to continue, and we can agree on any holidays booked.

I also have one slot on a Tuesday morning from 10.30am for one hour.

I have worked in education for twelve years, both as a Primary School Teacher and Careers Adviser. I live in Hailsham and have two children aged 10 and 14, my daughter is doing very well at secondary school this year. I am a friendly and approachable person and aim for the best possible success for the adults and children I have helped.

I am fifty one years old, retired from teaching to spend more time at home apart from some summer work, and am also qualified to teach English to speakers of other languages, having had lots of experience with pupils in this area. I have passed the 120 hour practical/academic from The TEFL Academy, which covers all age ranges and uses of English.

Tutoring Experience:

I spent two years teaching Year 1 and a year teaching a Year 2 class. I then spent a year and a half as a Nursery Teacher during which I had a very successful Ofsted inspection. Through my years of supply teaching once I had a family, I taught classes up to Year 6 across a variety of schools. I have a very good understanding of the process of learning to read and write and the acquisition of number skills. I have worked with children with various special needs over the years, from ages three to eighteen. I have worked alongside Speech Therapists in the Nursery age group. I have also taught Careers Education in secondary schools, including to those children with extra needs. I have helped adults to achieve their full potential by carefully evaluating their education and interests and helping them to plan for their next step. I am also qualified to teach English to speakers of other languages, of all ages, through The TEFL Academy. I'm also happy to provide home school lessons in most subjects at the primary level based on the new curriculum, and help secondary age young people who have fallen behind and may prefer practical subjects but still want to improve their English. I have experience helping with skills that will be useful for finding a job or practical placement. I have a degree in Social Administration BSC Hons.

Tutoring Approach:

I enjoy helping adults and children to reach their full potential in fun and imaginative ways. I understand that anxiety can block learning and go out of my way to make sure this does not happen. I welcome pupils from the age of four, and aim to discover the ways in which they make most progress, and cater for this, often making my own resources for the pupil. I can provide helpful feedback to worried parents, and put adult learners at their ease. I believe in homework that fits in with learner interest and the busy working week, and in giving regular updates on progress and the journey ahead.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION - FOR PARENTS -

I like to meet up for a friendly chat about what the student needs before the first lesson, which gives me the opportunity to find their home so I will always be on time. This is free although First Tutors do need to be paid for my contact details. Then the student/parent then pays after the first lesson, and can then book in sets of 3/4 weeks which need to be paid for in advance.

DRB Police check recently held.

Door to door service with a qualified teacher providing proper hands on lessons with very little screen time (how else can you learn the basic skills?)

I am used to helping not just one child, but a class of thirty, throughout the school year, so that they achieve the standards set down by the National Curriculum, are happy, enjoy school and get along with their friends. Putting my abilities to good use now I am retired from teaching (but still teach in summer schools) is a real pleasure for me, and allows me to enjoy my own children and family life much more.

As I only tutor up to five hours per week your child will have carefully planned lessons designed to zero in on the areas that could be holding them back, lessons planned around activities which motivate your son or daughter, in a way that is just not possible with A'Level/degree student teachers and a group of five children all sitting around at computers. It is easy to do this by simply having a children's maths or English app on your phone, I can help you pick out the best ones for your son or daughter and I'm sure you will be able to tell me about their likes and dislikes too.

All work is based on the National Curriculum and after several weeks you will begin to see what level your child is working at, and how they will progress.

Homework is at your request, you decide how much and if you would like to help your child or if you want work they can do by themselves, or if you want their school homework done and dusted within the tutoring hour so you can better enjoy your time with your child.

FOR HOME SCHOOL PARENTS -

I'm happy to fit in with your own personal philosophy, and design and adapt lessons to your own needs.

I'm open to teaching other lessons in addition to maths and English, I find hands on science and art are popular ways to push up crucial skills in maths and English.

Lesson bookings and payments as above.

FOR SPEAKERS OF POLISH, INDIAN LANGUAGES, SPANISH, FRENCH, ANY OTHER LANGUAGES.

I can teach English to people aged 4 to adult.

I can help with speaking English, reading English, writing English, spelling and grammar and understanding.

I can help with writing emails, catching the bus/train, getting a job, passing exams, shopping, household bills, reading a story to your children, getting into college. You can tell me what you need help with.

I am a kind and friendly teacher, who wants you to learn fast.

FOR PARENTS OF CHILDREN WITH EXTRA NEEDS.

I welcome all pupils, over the years I have worked with lots of different kinds of special needs. Please let me know about your child's needs and I will do my very best to accommodate them. I'm happy to do extra research/training and believe all children deserve the opportunity to thrive. All family information is totally confidential, at all times

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The TEFL Academy (2014) - TEFL 120 hour course (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • TEFL Academy (2014) - TEFL Academy 120 hour Teaching English (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Brunel University. (1997) - Primary Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Teesside University (1988) - BSc Hons Social Administration 2.2 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Hailsham Maths tutor, Hailsham English tutor, Hailsham English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hailsham Primary Maths tutor, Hailsham Primary English tutor, Hailsham Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hailsham Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hailsham GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hailsham Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor