Information About Simon - Chesham tutor

Profile Picture

Simon's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Simon:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £27.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Simon (Mr)


Personal Description:

Having come from a family of geographers I was almost destined to be a geography teacher!! I have a natural ability to build trusting and professional relationships with both students and parents. I would like to think that I have a sense of humour and seek ways to make learning interesting, relevant and fun; the subject of geography makes this an easy task. My areas of particular interest in geography are, weather and climate, ice on the land and urban environments - A degree in Physical Geography gave me a solid baseline on which to build my subject knowledge which I have developed with my teaching and extra reading in my private time. I live in the Milton Keynes area and teach in the Chiltern Hills (South Bucks) and I can cover both areas.

Tutoring Experience:

September 2016 will be my fifth year teaching and in that time I have gained experience in both the private and state sectors - I currently teach in a grammar school ranked within the top 50 nationally and graded 'outstanding'. In addition, I have previously worked for the Field Studies Council (FSC) and therefore have received specialised training in geographical skills and field work an area heavily focused on in both the new GCSE and A level course (from September 2016) as well as most AS and A2 courses on the outgoing syllabus. I have taught and have most experience in the following: AQA A GCSE (iGCSE included), AQA AS & A2 (outgoing course). From September; AQA A GCSE and Edexcel AS & A2. In addition to my teaching experience, I am an examiner for an AS exam board and have been for the past 3 years where I have gained an insight into the expectations of examiners and how best to maximise performance. I have been a private tutor for 1 year.

Tutoring Approach:

I prefer to tutor at the tutees house with parents on hand if needs be. My approach is structured yet informal. For GCSE and A level students I will spend 50% of the time on subject knowledge and 50% of my time on exam skills - I follow the desire of the student in which topic area they would like to focus on therefore, I expect the student to know what they need help with.


  • Manchester University (2008) - Bsc (Hons) Physical Geography (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chesham Geography tutor, Chesham Secondary Geography tutor, Chesham GCSE Geography tutor, Chesham A-Level Geography tutor