Information About Sarah - Oldham tutor -
(4 reviews)

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Sarah:





Subjects Taught

Sarah offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah (Miss)


Personal Description:

My name is Sarah Brereton (was ) and I have been a Year 6 teacher for 7 years, and a Deputy Headteacher in Rochdale for 5 years. I have a great passion for teaching and have worked in paid and voluntary roles as a teacher, teaching assistant, tutor and occasional university lecturer over the last 10 years.
My academic track record if very strong: I achieved an 'outstanding' judgement during my PGCE training and NQT years, and a 'distinction' in my Masters.
In my role as a manager, I take responsibility for pupil and teacher management, teaching, learning and assessment, with a particular focus on English and mathematics. I also assisted in designing the current school curriculum, which takes a creative approach to learning and has had a huge impact on progress.

Tutoring Experience:

I am about to commence my 7th year as a Year 6 teacher, and spent my NQT year as a Year 2 teacher. As a result, I have had experience of both key stage 1 and key stage 2 SATs, understanding the range of skills that must be taught and mastered by pupils. The children in my year groups have made consistently excellent progress - primarily through a range of interesting and interactive teaching approaches. This year, my cohort achieved a 91% pass rate in reading and mathematics, 87% in writing and 100% in grammar. These results are significantly above local and national standards.
In addition to my role as a classroom practitioner, for the past 6 years I have worked as a school-based and private 1:1 tutor. Until recently I have worked under the government 1:1 scheme, tutoring 20 Year 5 and 6 pupils in preparation for key stage 2 tests; government funding has now stopped, therefore I am looking for other opportunities to utilise my tutoring skills. I have also successfully tutored Year 6 and Year 2 pupils through first tutors, with a huge level of success.
I have also worked as a private tutor, with both a Year 2 child (in preparation for KS1 SATs) and a Year 11 student (underachieving in GCSE maths). Both children made excellent progress. Therefore, whilst my speciality is in KS2 tutoring, I am experienced and available to support both younger and older children.

Tutoring Approach:

As previously mentioned, my approach to tutoring is similar to my approach in teaching - making sessions interactive and engaging. I would begin with an initial assessment and identify areas of specific need. Sessions would then be tailored to suit the needs of the individual.
In a 1-11/2 hour session, I would begin with a warm up, focus on a specific area of knowledge, incorporate games and challenges and apply new skills (through SAT style questions if appropriate). Success stems from repetition, application and enjoyment.
My intricate knowledge of the new curriculum is vital in my approach and success.


  • University of Manchester (2010) - MAEd (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Manchester (2008) - PGCE Primary (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (2007) - BAHons English Lit/Lang (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oldham Maths tutor, Oldham English tutor, Oldham Primary Maths tutor, Oldham Primary English tutor