Skip to main content

Information About Sarabjit - Walsall tutor -
(5 reviews)

References

This is how 3 referees rated Sarabjit:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
13 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Sarabjit (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I have over 25 years of school and college teaching experience.
I have always loved Maths! I am an enthusiastic teacher, with a sense of humour. I like lessons to be both enjoyable and productive. I am empathetic towards the learner, showing patience and encouraging the student by being supportive, using praise appropriately. :)
I always had a passion for teaching and, whilst at school, even taught my younger brother and sister to help them through their O Level Maths! Now I get called upon to help my own children, nephews and nieces, and by children of friends.

Please note that I will be able to give tuition in two locations. I will be working predominantly in the West Midlands, but 1 day each week I will be based in Oadby, Leicester (area postcode LE2) depending upon demand.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught students from Primary age through to GCSE and A Level, including SATs and Entrance exams, on an individual basis.
I have teaching experience in schools ranging from 11-18 years, and college students from 16-18 years and adults. I have also assisted some university students with Statistics modules in science based courses.
In recent years, my teaching has been mainly A Level Maths, A Level Further Maths, A Level Statistics and GCSE Maths. I have also recently taught/have recent experience with Functional Skills - Maths, GCSE Statistics, Additional Mathematics (FSMQ), iGCSE and AQA Cert in Further Maths.
I am familiar with all of the examination boards and have attended examination board meetings/training courses in a variety of Maths courses.
I m also an Mathematics Examiner for AQA (i.e. I mark examination papers for AQA)
I have taught students and teachers how to use a graphical calculator for A Level Maths and A Level Statistics.

I have a clean Enhanced DBS Check Certificate.

Tutoring Approach:

The approach I use will depend on the individual student's needs. I am a patient, empathetic teacher and one of the first aims will be to create a relaxed and comfortable learning environment in which the student feels confident about learning. I will assess the student's current ability and situation and then together decide on strategies to help the student to progress quickly. I will make use of the student's textbook/s (where appropriate), examination papers and also internet based resources to aid learning, and so that the student is able to practice in between sessions. For students with examinations approaching, the main focus will be exam question practice and lessons results orientated.

I will aim to make the pupil/student into an independent learner.

Qualifications:

  • University of Leicester (1985) - Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Aston (1984) - BSC Hons Maths (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Walsall Maths tutor, Walsall Entrance Exams tutor, Walsall Secondary Maths tutor, Walsall GCSE Maths tutor, Walsall A-Level Maths tutor, Walsall Casual Learner Maths tutor, Walsall Secondary Entrance Exams tutor