Skip to main content

Information About Sara - Bangor tutor -

Profile Picture

Sara's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Sara:





Subjects Taught

Sara offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £28.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £28.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £28.00

Map Location

Map for Sara

Personal Description:

I obtained a BSc(Hons.) Degree in Applied Biology at Bangor University, a PGCE (General Primary 7-11) at the Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education and Level 3 in Delivery of Basic Skills to Adults at Coleg Menai. I have supported university students over the last 18 years by providing them with thorough lecture notes. I very much enjoy working alongside students to help them achieve their potentials. In the past, I have also undertaken short contracts of research work and have proofread scientific material for both lecturers and students. My experience of working alongside students of all ages continues to be a great privilege; one-to-one tutoring allows me to tailor my tuition to each individual's needs and to build a trusting relationship. I also support prospective university students to compile their personal statements (specialising in medical school personal statements).
My hobbies include baking, designing and stitching tapestries, walking and keep-fit.

Tutoring Experience:

For the last 8 years I have provided tuition in mathematics and English at a local college of Higher Education in the Learning Support Department. Many of my students have struggled at school and one-to-one support gives them the confidence to gain knowledge and understanding, enabling them to re-sit exams. I have been providing after-school home tuition in mathematics and English since 2013 for children aged 7 to GCSE level. I also have experience of teaching adults who wish to improve their literacy and numeracy skills. I am registered with the Education Workforce Council (EWC).

Tutoring Approach:

Initially, I will have an informal discussion with the pupil (and parent) to determine the difficulties that the pupil needs to overcome.I establish whether the pupil has a general understanding of key concepts (in the case of maths) or a general understanding of grammar/punctuation/spelling (in the case of English). Subsequent sessions will focus on particular areas of need; I will introduce these, often providing my own typed sheets with examples, which the student can keep for future reference. I will ask the student to complete relevant activities (which, if not completed might be given for "homework"). Each pupil will have a progress sheet at the front of his/her folder. This will be filled in at the end of each session and will outline the topics covered with comments, homework to be done and provide feedback on the previous session's homework. If a parent prefers that homework is not given, then this is totally acceptable. Lessons should ideally be weekly but I am flexible. I also provide tuition in half-term holidays and all longer school holidays. Tutoring is provided in a relaxed but professional environment and, if acceptable to parents, a cupcake and drink is provided half-way through a session to each primary-aged child (I am a keen baker and have obtained Level 2 in Food Safety in Catering!).

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Coleg Menai (2009) - City and Guilds (Level 3) in Delivery of Basic Skills to Adults (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Bristol (1991) - PGCE (General Primary 7-11) (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Bangor University (1988) - 2:1 BSc(Hons.) Applied Biology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Bangor Maths tutor, Bangor English tutor, Bangor Primary Maths tutor, Bangor Secondary Maths tutor, Bangor GCSE Maths tutor, Bangor Casual Learner Maths tutor, Bangor Primary English tutor, Bangor Secondary English tutor