Skip to main content

Information About Sandra - Newent tutor -

Profile Picture

Sandra's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sandra:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Sandra offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £26.00
Secondary £26.00
GCSE £26.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £26.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Secondary £26.00
GCSE £26.00
Casual Learner £26.00

Map Location

Map for Sandra

Personal Description:

I have dedicated my life to teaching and learning and still love both. As a tutor, I am gentle and encouraging, recognising the potentially vulnerable position of the student, and often needing to break down long-held negative self beliefs. I am naturally methodical and organised and I am often told I am very patient. During my teacher training and early teaching years, I learned a lot about how children best learn but I realised a lot more during my time as a home-educating parent and absorbed even more in my NLP Master Practitioner training.

Tutoring Experience:

Having gained an Honours Degree in Pure Mathematics and a PGCE, I went into primary school teaching. Later, I home-educated my sons from infancy, including teaching them Spanish to A* at GCSE in one year whilst teaching myself. After a year studying Spanish at a college to A grade at A level, in September 2003, I began teaching Spanish to adults at a local college, using the course that I designed. and subsequently have developed over several years. I have studied and practised NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programming) to Master Practitioner level, which has further enriched my learning and teaching skills. I have been tutoring children in maths and English privately since 2005 and have taught English to speakers of other languages and adult numeracy and literacy classes. I am currently writing a 'teach yourself Spanish' course.

Tutoring Approach:

Above all, I aim for the learner to feel good about themselves, through acknowledging every little success and my students soon begin to trust that it is safe to risk mistakes and can move confidently into unfamiliar territory. I have a structured but unpressured approach and like to keep the atmosphere light whilst keeping clear focus on each task. Often, my students and I find laughter comes into our lessons too. I aim to be seen by the student as someone 'on their side', building confidence and stretching the student to reach their potential. The content of any primary maths / English lesson follows the learner's individual needs. It is invaluable in private lessons to be able to explain a topic until understood and to explore maths topics in a hands-on way with various resources. Particularly in maths, topics often need frequent revision, like keeping the plates all spinning, which we can do according to the individual student.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Training Changes, Cheltenham (2005) - Master Practitoner of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Cirencester College (2003) - A'Level in Spanish (College) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sussex (1984) - Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Warwick (1983) - B.Sc Hons in Pure Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Newent Maths tutor, Newent English tutor, Newent Spanish tutor, Newent Primary Maths tutor, Newent Secondary Maths tutor, Newent GCSE Maths tutor, Newent Primary English tutor, Newent Secondary Spanish tutor, Newent GCSE Spanish tutor, Newent Casual Learner Spanish tutor