Skip to main content

Information About Ruth - Cranleigh tutor -

Profile Picture

Ruth's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Ruth:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
13 Plus £40.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00

Personal Description:

Massive congratulations to my clients on their amazing results this summer. You have made me so proud.

Please note I'm now full for this term (Sept - December 2017) unless you are available Saturday day times.

Thank you for looking at my profile. I'm a full time teacher, tutoring part time to fund a masters.

I tutor weekday afternoons and evenings, weekends and school holidays. Happy to travel to Guildford, Effingham, Shere, Ripley and Bookham and areas inside that circle. If you are further away please ask… I may be able to help if you are willing to travel to me.

Learning should be fun and my teaching encourages independent thought, enquiry and most importantly self confidence. My main subject is English Literature though I am now studying for a Masters in ASD. I am tutoring to finance my studies.

I believe successful education can change lives and every student can succeed with the right support. I encourage students to learn according to their style and to achieve their full potential, whilst building their self confidence and core skills. My previous tutees are happy to recommend me and their exam success is my greatest reference.

Tutoring Experience:

Having taught English for many years in mainstream secondary schools, I then developed an interest in SEN and am currently an autism specialist. However I do still tutor English (Literature and Language) to A Level, and work at an FE college full time.

I have twenty five years experience as a teacher. My last ofsted observation, in October 2015, judged my teaching outstanding.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a creative and effective teacher with experience in secondary and FE settings. I have had equal success with talented students and with students who experience difficulties (either academically or behaviourally). My approach fosters motivation and enthusiasm. It must be stressed however; I do expect my tutees to work hard. I will tutor to the highest possible outcome but tutees have to want to succeed, as I can't be with them in the exam. Quite simply I won't waste my time or your money! I look forward to talking further about your learner's needs.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Guildford College (2014) - Dip TLLS (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Brooklands (2000) - Dip Ed (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Kingston (1996) - English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Cranleigh English tutor, Cranleigh Entrance Exams tutor, Cranleigh Special Needs tutor, Cranleigh Sociology tutor, Cranleigh Study Skills tutor, Cranleigh Secondary English tutor, Cranleigh GCSE English tutor, Cranleigh Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Cranleigh GCSE Special Needs tutor, Cranleigh GCSE Sociology tutor, Cranleigh GCSE Study Skills tutor