Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Ros

Ros

Private Maths and English Tutor in North Walsham

I am an excellent, successful and experienced primary teacher. Not only do I enjoy teaching, I love learning and am always doing courses to extend my knowledge and skills - recently in art and creative writing.
I live on Norfolk Broads.
I have two children and 7 grandchildren whose ages span KS1, KS2 and KS3 so I have up-to-date teaching experience from a school and a personal perspective.
Parents are always welcome to sit in on any of my sessions in order to listen, learn and question providing this does not affect the pupil’s behaviour. It is essential that all involved in a child’s education are in accord with their needs. I am happy to seek and send information to their school if asked.
I have a comfortable, spacious home with suitable areas for teaching.

I love reading, all sorts of music and dance and nature, especially birds.
I have travelled to the seven continents (yes, including Antarctica!)
I love knowledge, teaching and children.

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching for 40 years in a variety of schools ranging from areas of poverty and social deprivation to academically based private schools. I have worked in large city schools with 300+ pupils and village schools with 40 or less pupils.
I have taught classes within every year group in the primary sector.

I have had whole school responsibility for maths and been acting head when needed.
I have run British Council initiatives working with European schools leading pupil trips to Poland and Spain.
Over the last 15 years, I have been working on one-to-one schemes where I have worked with individual pupils and groups in the school setting, creating my own curriculum to support and extend pupils’ abilities in maths, all aspects of English and in humanities.
I have been successful in helping schools to get above average KS2 SATS results as well as building individual confidence for the future and helping those with anger management issues to reach their potential.
Prior to that I worked in the Junior Department of Norwich High School for 17 years.
Previously, on moving to Norfolk, I worked for 10 years in village schools around the Broads area.
I have a current DBS and can provide excellent references.

Tutoring Approach

My approach is one of flexibility and understanding based on immense experience.
I can coach to a higher than average level or support where the building blocks have been missed.
I have no problem in supporting pupils with challenging personalities and adapting my teaching style to meet their needs.
Apart from providing the necessary teaching concepts, I offer a sense of humour, dedication, acute awareness of needs and hope to provide confidence while instilling a sense of excitement, anticipation and pleasure in learning.I have an excellent ability to analyse pupils’ needs in a preliminary session as well as in the ensuing teaching which enables me to create a teaching plan to support any weaknesses or extension that may be required.
I can do this quickly and capably; adjusting during a session if necessary.
I have a range of teaching styles and skills that I can use to differentiate between the needs of the different key stages and to engage with pupils according to their personality. Where appropriate, I like to use practical materials to reinforce concepts if necessary.
I can extend pupils beyond their average expectation to higher, or I can support through concepts that need greater understanding in order to raise to meet average expectation.
I am extremely organised and efficient. However, I can be flexible and fluid, depending on what style might be needed for the individual pupil.
I have a huge bank of tried and tested resources both in my head and on the computer and on paper.

I am always keen to find new ways of supporting pupils, tailed to their favourite topics and hobbies where possible.
I am a good listener so that I can understand the concerns and important issues of parents/carers and the pupil themselves.
I am confident in being able to talk frankly and openly to families about their needs and issues.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Open University1987BachelorsBA London
Philippa Fawcett, London1976QTSCertEd

Ros's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Ros
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Click here for more Maths tutors