Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Rochelle

Rochelle

Private French and German Tutor in Bangor

Hello! ¡Hola! Bonjour ! Hallo!

My name is Rochelle and I am a French, Spanish, German and English language tutor with five years teaching experience and a BA (Hons) French and Spanish (1st) from Queen's University Belfast. I am currently studying a Master's of Research in Arts and Humanities at Queen's University Belfast.

I teach French and Spanish to primary school, secondary school/GCSE and sixth-form students/A-level students and can provide support to university students on their language work. I offer German classes to primary school and secondary school/GCSE students, in addition to casual Spanish, French, and English (as a foreign language) classes to students of all ages.

Diligent and enthusiastic about my subjects, I was awarded the Queen's Scholarship Foundation for the highest academic achievement in French and Spanish within the year group in 2018. In 2021, I graduated with a distinction in French and Spanish oral and received the Xavier Giralt Prize and the Christopher Shorley Prize for exceptional academic performance in final year Spanish and for the highest mark in the core module of final year French respectively. Moreover, I was awarded the Bulletin of Spanish Studies Postgraduate Bursary as the student with the highest marks at undergraduate level to have been accepted for a master's in Spanish studies at Queen's.

I have a passion for modern languages and foreign cultures and have developed my knowledge of these during my travels to Spain and France. During the summer of 2019, I was an au-pair for a family in Auvergne, France, following which I moved to Asturias, Spain where I worked as an English Language Assistant for nine months. Then, in July 2020, I studied French at the IEF in Montpellier, France for four weeks and was awarded a level C1 certificate in the French language.

Tutoring Experience

From 2017-2018, I was a personal tutor at the Homework Clubs organisation which is run by Queen's. I helped young people with their languages homework and prepared them for their GCSEs and A-levels.

I also volunteered at the Barnardo's Saturday Club from 2014-2019 where I worked with young people from the age of 5 - 11 with learning difficulties, including ADHD and Autism.

Having worked as an au-pair for two months and a language assistant for nine, I have extensive experience in teaching languages to children (from the age of six), teenagers and adults.

I have been giving private tuition for five years to students of all ages and am familiar with a variety of exam boards (Edexcel, AQA, CCEA, Cambridge International).

Tutoring Approach

Everyone is different and so I make it my aim to get to know each student individually and adapt my teaching methods to their needs. I find out from every student what they need help with and what they want to achieve and then create a structured plan with them. I can assist with vocabulary and grammar, in addition to listening and reading comprehension, and speaking and writing/translation skills. Furthermore, I can help with homework as well as preparation for GCSE and A-level examinations and university language assignments.

I understand that language learning can be difficult and demotivating at times, so I use a variety of interactive methods to engage students, including music, videos and games. I have a laptop, tablet, printer and a wide range of academic resources which allow me to provide my students with all the materials they need to learn efficiently. For online students, I create them a personalised Drive folder online in order to share files.

I am patient, positive and perseverant and love to share my passion for languages with other people.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Spanish, French
AvailabilityWeekends
References Available On File

Qualifications

Wessex Tutors2016CollegeFrench A-level
Wessex Tutors2015CollegeSpanish A-level
Wessex Tutors2017CollegeGerman A-level
Queen's University Belfast2021BachelorsBA (Hons) French and Spanish (1st)

Rochelle's Feedback

Feedback
7
Published feedback
7
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rochelle
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Click here for more French tutors