Robin

Robin

I obtained my degree in physics and doctorate in theoretical physics from the University of Nottingham. I then spent ten years working as a physicist in various universities in Italy, New Zealand and the UK. My specialty was low temperature physics. I am fascinated by science and try to pass on my enthusiasm.

In my spare time I enjoy white-water kayaking.

Tutoring Experience

One of my responsibilities as a postdoctoral researcher was to mentor physics students. I am used to explaining difficult concepts and techniques in a clear, simple and concise way. I have been working as a maths and physics tutor since January 2016. I currently teach students from 13 to adult, up to advanced higher.

I also work as an outdoors instructor, teaching climbing, kayaking and biking. Most of my outdoors work is with children, often those who have behavioural problems and are at risk of being excluded from school.

Tutoring Approach

I encourage the student to think for himself/herself rather than spoon-feeding the material. I ensure that the student understands the fundamental concepts behind each topic, and does not simple regurgitate methods by rote. I aim to instill a fundamental understanding of the subject, but as exams approach I go through past papers and hone exam technique.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Nottingham1999MastersMSci Physics
University of Nottingham2003DoctoratePhD in theoretical physics

Robin's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Robin
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught