Robert

Robert

I am a highly experienced tutor, living in Whitley Bay with my wife and two chinchillas. I am a freelance writer, concentrating on articles and books, and of course a part-time tutor both online and in person. I am originally from Scotland, though I came to live in England four years ago after spending 15 years in the United States pursuing my education and other opportunities.

Tutoring Experience

I taught for 2 years at the University of Georgia as a Graduate Student where I received awards for teaching at departmental and university-wide levels.
While in the US, I worked with student-athletes as their Academic Advisor. That involved many hours of one-to-one tutoring in a wide range of subjects.
Since coming to live in England, I have worked as a Tutor at two Tutoring schools in Oxford, and as a private Tutor for A-Level and University students.

Tutoring Approach

I teach writing more so than content, though I am always happy to discuss content as part of the writing process. Almost all the students I work with need help in writing essays and dissertations because if you cannot do that, it doesn't matter how much you know about a given subject. I also take a keen interest in all the factors affecting a student's success, therefore I lean towards a holistic approach to tutoring. I am very direct and also very thorough. My only expectations of the student/tutee are that she is willing to work and wants to succeed.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Georgia2011DoctorateUS History
University of Georgia1998MastersUS History
University of Edinburgh1996Bachelors2:1 in Classics & Mediaeval History

Robert's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Robert
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism