Robert

Robert

Retford Tutor

Hi, my name is Robert and I am, and always have been, passionate about teaching. As a Science teacher I revelled in the fun of delivering such a vibrant, diverse and topical subject and have been described as outstanding by Ofsted and praised for my infectious enthusiasm. As a primary teacher I just love bringing out the awe and wonder that I believe is inside every young child. I am a dad of two lively young children (10 & 7) who certainly keep me busy with their zest for life! I play classical guitar, read voraciously and get out walking as often as our busy lives permit.

Tutoring Experience

I have 12 years' experience as a teacher, the first years spent gaining experience, the later years in positions of responsibility culminating in being appointed Head of Science responsible for delivering the whole of the curriculum to years 7 to 13. I taught Combined Science up to age 14, Physics and Chemistry to GCSE and Physics and Geology A' levels. In addition to my classroom experience I have a TEFL qualification which I put to good use while I was living and working in France for 12 years tutoring French people on a 1:1 basis. I taught both children and adults to learn English in the spoken and written word. Since returning to the UK just over a year ago, I have been working as a supply teacher in local primary schools delivering the complete curriculum, and I have started my own tutoring business and have a number of students whom I see after school for Maths and/or English tuition.

Tutoring Approach

I believe the greatest benefit of 1:1 tutoring (or tutoring small groups), is that it is so much easier to tailor the learning to the student's needs, aiding understanding and building on that towards mastery of a subject. Progress is often swift because as has been so often stated, 1:1 tuition for an hour is probably the equivalent of several days in the classroom! My initial approach is to assess the student's needs in the first couple of sessions, using the information gleaned to build a program of study that is particular to that student. With regards to TEFL, having lived abroad for 12 years I appreciate just how difficult it can be as an adult to learn a foreign language, so I have great empathy with my adult learners and love helping them get to grips with our complex language.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Bedfordshire1994BachelorsGeology with Environmental Science 1st class
De Montfort University1995PGCESecondary Science
Dept of Education1996QTSTeacher Status
ITC2006OtherTeaching English as a Foreign Language

Robert's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Robert
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
English
Primary£25
Combined Science
Primary£25
Secondary£25
English (Foreign Language)
Casual Learner£25