Skip to main content

Information About Rebecca - Northampton tutor -

Profile Picture

Rebecca's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Rebecca:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Japanese

Hourly Rate
Primary £19.00
Secondary £19.00
GCSE £19.00
Casual Learner £23.00

Map Location

Map for Rebecca

Personal Description:

Nice to meet you! I'm Rebecca; I'm 28 years old and graduated from Bangor University with a BSc in Psychology with Clinical and Health Psychology. After university I spent a year as a specialist support worker for adults with autism and autistic traits. With my psychology degree and experience I am more than happy to cater for students that might need a bit of extra help, and have experience teaching students with Aspergers, Personality Disorder, and depression.

Following uni, I spent nearly 2 years teaching English as a foreign language in Japan. Whilst in Japan, I also learnt how to speak conversational Japanese, and can also read and write hiragana, katakana, and second-grade level kanji. I now tutor English and Japanese full time, and have registered my own language services company.

To better understand what is needed for GCSE Japanese, I took my GCSE in 2016 achieving an A*, and plan to take N4 in the Japanese Proficiency test next year. I am happy to help students work towards their GCSE or N5 level Japanese, and I am constantly training to improve my students learning experience.

In 2017, I acted as a GCSE speaking examiner for the first time, and I'm happy to do so again if required. I can also be the examiner for any of my students that wish to take the GCSE exam.

I'd also like to say a massive congratulations to my two students that took their GCSE Japanese this year, and received their results 24/8/17 achieving a B and an A*!

I'm currently teaching in the Northamptonshire area, and have a classroom set up in my home where I do most of my teaching from.

Please note: I am currently very full in the evenings, so I can only offer limited evening lesson slots at the moment.

Tutoring Experience:

My teaching experience includes the 2 years I spent teaching English as a foreign language in Japan, where I designed the yearly teaching schedules, lesson plans, and then taught the lessons. My students were from the age of 3 to 65, so I have experience in teaching all ages. Whilst in Japan I also taught beginner's Japanese to foreigners living in my local area.

Since returning to England in 2013 I've been tutoring English and Japanese full time. I took my GCSE Japanese in 2016 achieving an A*, and plan to take N4 of the Japanese proficiency test next year. I have also been teaching one of my younger students English, Math, and other related subjects required for primary school. I currently have more than 20 students learning Japanese 1-to-1 and relish the challenges and individuality between each new student.

At university I volunteered for several groups including an activity group for disadvantaged children, assisting in secondary school classrooms, volunteering at the local mental health unit and volunteering as a charity shop assistant.

Prior to this, I often tutored my younger sister (who has Asperger's Syndrome) and helped her to understand her school work. I have also clocked up countless hours of babysitting for parents around the local area.

Tutoring Approach:

When students attend my lessons, I like to think that they come not only to learn, but for the experience. I deliver fun, relaxed, friendly lessons where my students can feel comfortable and just enjoy learning something they're interested in. I write and provide all of my own lesson materials, and adapt them to my student's learning style - and then mix in some games to help practice the new vocabulary!

I also encourage my students to message me with questions, or to send pictures of their work for discussions outside of lessons too - so if you're ever stuck during your studies, always know that you've got someone to ask!

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Japanese
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Self Study (2016) - GCSE Japanese A* (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • ODLQC (2011) - TEFL (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Bangor University (2010) - 2:1 BSc Clinical and Health Psychology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Northampton School for Girls (2007) - A level: Psychology "A", English Literature and Language "A" (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Northampton Japanese tutor, Northampton Primary Japanese tutor, Northampton Secondary Japanese tutor, Northampton GCSE Japanese tutor, Northampton Casual Learner Japanese tutor