Information About Rachel - Cradley Heath tutor -
(4 reviews)


This is how 2 referees rated Rachel:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Rachel (Ms)


Personal Description:

I have twenty one years experience teaching mathematics at a range of levels, including five years teaching predominantly A-level (2007-2012).
As well as teaching classes I have spent many years teaching individuals, either one-to-one or in maths workshop situations. Much of my work has been with adults and young people who struggle with maths.
Since February 2013 I have been self-employed as a freelance maths teacher, primarily doing private tuition. I have also run workshops and a taught course for QTS Numeracy Test students.

I am a supportive teacher, working with you in the way that works best for you. I am a qualified primary teacher (ages 7-12), main subject mathematics, and have extensive experience teaching students with specific learning differences. This includes autistic spectrum conditions as well as dyslexia, dyscalculia and dyspraxia, with students at all levels of ability.I offer maths tuition at the student's home and in a dedicated room in my house, and aim to make every lesson enjoyable as well as productive.

Tutoring Experience:

AS/A2 Mathematics (Pure Maths, Mechanics, Decision)
GCSE Mathematics (Higher and Foundation)
QTS Numeracy Test
Access to Higher Education
Supporting students with dyslexia, dyspraxia, dyscalculia (and other learning needs)
Adult Numeracy / Skills for Life
Maths - Don't Panic!
Maths and Dyslexia workshops
Primary school class teacher

Tutoring Approach:

Tuition is tailored to the needs of the student, adapting teaching strategies to suit the individual: building on strengths, developing confidence, deepening understanding, empowering independent learning, increasing success.

I am a supportive tutor, always aiming to make maths lessons both enjoyable and productive. Where appropriate, lessons may include the use of mathematical games and activities as well as more formal teaching methods.

With younger students, the first session will include a consultation with both the student and a parent/carer to identify priorities for tuition and preferred ways of working.

Records of work can be made accessible to students and their parents/carers by email or via a shared online folder.

I will always look at the way the student learns best as the more closely tuition is matched to your learning style, the easier it will be for you to learn. This may be a brief conversation or an ongoing process. If you are an experienced learner and already know the best ways for you to learn - just tell me!


  • Southbank University (1998) - Certificate in Adult Dyslexia Support (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Westhill College, Birmingham (1995) - 1st class hons: B.Ed. with QTS (Primary ages 7-12, main subject maths) (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cradley Heath Maths tutor, Cradley Heath Special Needs tutor, Cradley Heath Primary Maths tutor, Cradley Heath Secondary Maths tutor, Cradley Heath GCSE Maths tutor, Cradley Heath A-Level Maths tutor, Cradley Heath Casual Learner Maths tutor, Cradley Heath Primary Special Needs tutor, Cradley Heath Secondary Special Needs tutor, Cradley Heath GCSE Special Needs tutor, Cradley Heath A-Level Special Needs tutor, Cradley Heath Casual Learner Special Needs tutor