Rachel

Rachel

Oxford Tutor

SORRY NOW FULLY BOOKED DURING TERM-TERM - AVAILABILITY IN SCHOOL HOLIDAYS/HALF-TERM ONLY

Since moving to Oxford in 2016, I have taught modern languages part-time at three leading independent schools (Headington School, d'Overbroeck's and Abingdon School) and have privately tutored a wide range of students from both the private and state sectors, from the ages of 11-18yrs, including students with special educational needs. This year I also tutored French A Level on the Easter Revision Course at Oxford Tutorial College. From Sept 2018, I will be taking on more school teaching and in-school private tutoring, so can only offer new tuition in the holidays (including half-term). Before moving to Oxford, I was a full-time teacher at Cranleigh School, Surrey for 9 years, where I was Head of French & Italian and also taught German to IGCSE. I studied both my degree (MA in French & German) and PGCE (Modern Languages) at Oxford University.

Since university, I have taught myself two new languages from scratch (Italian and, most recently, Spanish), gaining the top grade in both languages at A Level after just two years. This experience has been invaluable in my own teaching as it has reminded me what it is like to be unfamiliar with a language, and helped me to focus on the essentials when time is short!

In addition to school teaching and private tutoring, I have been studying an MA in Creative Writing at Oxford Brookes for the past two years and am writing a historical novel set in France and Germany during WWII.

Before becoming a teacher, I lived and worked abroad - first in German-speaking Switzerland for a year as an English Assistant Teacher, and then in Paris for 9 years, where I was a marketing consultant for a Franco-British company, where French was the main working language. I speak French at home on a daily basis as my partner is French.

I am happy to provide certificates of relevant qualifications if required, including a recent DBS check. References are also available via this site.

I live in South Oxford and can tutor either in my own home or yours. Please note that for safeguarding reasons, an adult will need to be at home during the tutoring. I am willing to travel to you free of charge if it is within 5 miles (longer distances can be negotiated).

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching French, Italian and German in secondary schools since 2007. I am used to teaching all ability levels, boys and girls, from Year 7 to Year 13 and including Oxbridge preparation. I consistently achieve strong results and am well-liked by my pupils. I am experienced at conducting GCSE/IGCSE/A Level oral exams and have prepared pupils for most exam boards/specifications including the new A Level and GCSE. As Head of French at Cranleigh School, I also conducted the 13+ scholarship oral exams. It is my job to remain abreast of curriculum changes and adapt my teaching accordingly, especially in today's ever-changing climate!

In addition to classroom teaching, I have privately tutored a range of school pupils, from age 11 to 18 and including SEN pupils, in both Surrey and Oxford. This has included preparation for 13+ scholarship exams, GCSE/IGCSE and A Level/Pre-U. I also offer general conversation classes to both school pupils and adults wishing to improve their French generally.

Tutoring Approach

I am patient, encouraging and friendly and adapt to the needs of the student. After making an initial assessment of their strengths and weaknesses, and discussing their needs and goals, I offer tailor-made strategies to help them achieve better results. This may include a focus on a particular skill (eg. speaking), grammar revision or A Level essay-writing technique, to name just a few examples. In the case of pupils working towards scholarships and other public exams, I can offer specific strategies to help improve their exam technique, based on my experience as a classroom teacher and Head of Department.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, Italian, German
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Oriel College, Oxford University1996MastersFrench & German
Trinity College, Oxford University2007PGCEModern Languages
CILS (Italian Institute/University of Siena)2012OtherItalian - Level C1 (equivalent of 1st/2nd year degree)

Rachel's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rachel
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
French
Secondary£45
GCSE£45
A-Level£45
German
Secondary£45
GCSE£45
Italian
Secondary£45
GCSE£45
A-Level£45