Philippa

Philippa

Since graduating from Oxford University in 2011 with a degree in Economics and Management, I have worked full time as a private tutor, both in the UK and internationally. My degree required a high level of maths. I took A-Levels in Maths, Economics, Geography and Critical Thinking, and received an A in all of these. I attended Kendrick Grammar School from the age of 11 to 18. This involved an entrance exam with both non-verbal and verbal reasoning papers. I have a good understanding of what is needed to achieve the top marks in maths, economics and business related subjects as well as what is needed to be successful in entrance exams.

I have also completed a post graduate degree in Global Development Challenges (University of Edinburgh, with distinction).

I have now been working as a tutor for four years and love my job. I enjoy building up a relationship with the families and students I work with and seeing a transformation in their confidence and their skills. Families I work with often joke that I have the patience of a saint!

I also work in a secondary school for 2 days a week teaching A-Level Economics and Maths.

Tutoring Experience

Since graduating, I have completed thousands of hours of tutoring in all my subjects. My students really enjoy my lessons and have been very successful. All of my 11+ students were successful this year, including Blue Coat, Kendrick, Reading Boys and The Abbey. All of my economics and maths students see a huge improvement, with the majority going on to achieve top grades (A/A*). My students often tell me that I have a way of explaining complicated things that 'just seems to make sense'.

I have spent 7 months homeschooling three children in the Bahamas and have worked with children of all ages in a wide range of roles. For 5 years I worked at my local dry ski slope as a ski instructor. This involved teaching anyone over the age of 4, and making lessons fun and relevant for them. I have learned to adapt my teaching style and to think of creative and innovative ways to teach new things. I also work with young people with special needs, which requires a great deal of patience and imagination.

I have also spent a great deal of time working with children with a variety of special needs including dyslexia and ADHD. I have had great success, particularly those with dyslexia. I aim to find imaginative and enjoyable ways to help the child and to build their self confidence in the subject.

Tutoring Approach

I have spent five years teaching in Berkshire and have an excellent reputation there. My profile in Berkshire has over 15 reviews averaging 4.9. I have recently moved to London and I am looking to build a base here.

I am friendly, patient and imaginative when it comes to teaching. I will keep finding different ways of explaining something until the person I am teaching really understands. I believe that students are much more likely to learn when they have a positive relationship with their teacher and when they are having fun.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Edinburgh2013MastersGlobal Development Challenges (Distinction)
Oxford University2011Bachelors2.1 BA Economics & Management
Kendrick Grammar School2007CollegeA at A-Level in Maths, Economics, Geography and Critical Thinking
Kendrick Grammar School2005SchoolA* at GCSE in Maths, Science, English, Business Studies, Geography, German,

Philippa's Feedback

Feedback
27
Published feedback
27
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Philippa
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism