Paul

Southport Tutor

I am a 56-year-old teacher and writer with a deep interest in English Literature, History and sport. I have a lively sense of humour and derive deep satisfaction from helping young people achieve their goals, whatever they may be. I am kind and sympathetic and I like to think I work hard.

Tutoring Experience

After teaching full-time for several years in secondary education, I have spent the last eight years working as a private tutor. I have taught GCSE English Language and A-Level English Literature and History. I have also helped many pupils who are studying for the LNAT, BMAT, GMAT and Oxbridge entry.

Tutoring Approach

I tailor my teaching to the needs of my pupils: one student may require a GCSE English Language at Foundation Level; another may need help with their Oxbridge exams. The two tutees are equally important to me. I have worked with pupils across a wide spectrum of ability and, while my technique changes, my commitment to helping them get the best grade possible does not. I do work very hard on exam technique because I have found that mastery in this field is just as important as a grasp of content. I also believe it is vital to establish a relaxed yet purposeful teaching environment. My pupils tell me they enjoy being taught by me.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Oxford University1978BachelorsBachelor of Arts
Oxford University1980PGCEPostgraduate Certificate in Education
Oxford University1983MastersMaster of Arts

Paul's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
A-Level£27
University£27
Casual Learner£27
History
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
A-Level£27
University£27
Casual Learner£27
Entrance Exams
University£30
Casual Learner£30