Skip to main content

Information About Oliver - Burry Port tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Oliver's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Oliver:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00£13.50
Secondary £15.00£13.50
GCSE £20.00£18.00
A-Level £20.00£18.00
University £25.00£22.50
Casual Learner £20.00£18.00

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00£13.50
Secondary £15.00£13.50
Casual Learner £20.00£18.00

Spanish

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00£13.50
Secondary £15.00£13.50
Casual Learner £20.00£18.00

Map Location

Map for Oliver (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hi there,

As a holder of a doctorate and first class bachelor's degree in Mathematics, my first aim as a tutor is to provide Mathematical support for students of all ages, whether it be long division and tables in primary school, beginners algebra at secondary, or for formal qualifications such as GCSE, A-Level or BSc.

I am very interested in the theory and practice of teaching mathematics, but am also committed to providing numeracy and literacy support in general, to people of all ages.

The centre of my catchment circle is the village of Pontyates in Carmarthenshire. Since everywhere is a significant journey away, my prices reflect a baseline, with very reasonable travel costs to be added upon finalising arrangements.

I also have good written Spanish grammar and translation skills so anyone seeking such support is more than welcome to ask. My tutoring includes Beginner Spanish, Beginner French and English up to Key Stage 3.

The obligatory enhanced DBS disclosure has been obtained and is available for viewing by tutees or their parents.

Tutoring Experience:

My tutoring is built on:

1) Two years of tutoring Mathematics at Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3, GCSE, A Level, and undergraduate levels, and English at Key Stage 3.

2) An academic year spent lecturing at Aberystwyth University, providing modules 'Mathematics for Economists I' and 'Statistics for Economists'. (Includes workshops in R).

3) Problems classes and workshops during my PhD studies in Nottingham.

4) A desire to teach more in the future, and develop my skills wherever possible to do the best for my students. For example, I am pursuing a degree in Language Studies from the Open University, to augment my English, Spanish and French skills.

5) The articulacy and thorough literacy required to write a doctoral thesis.

6) A desire to have fun while showing that mathematics is more than just boring number crunching, it's a way of life!

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring is important, but also very flexible. Tuition is based around the specific needs of each student, and their study circumstances. In general it is more important to instil the mathematical mode of thinking so that students can solve their own problems independently. All of these factors and many more combine to make tuition for each student.

Qualifications:

  • Nottingham University (2012) - Applied Mathematics (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Aberystwyth University (2006) - Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Carmarthenshire College (2002) - HND Computer Aided Engineering (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Burry Port Maths tutor, Burry Port English tutor, Burry Port Spanish tutor, Burry Port Primary Maths tutor, Burry Port Secondary Maths tutor, Burry Port GCSE Maths tutor, Burry Port A-Level Maths tutor, Burry Port University Maths tutor, Burry Port Casual Learner Maths tutor, Burry Port Primary English tutor, Burry Port Secondary English tutor, Burry Port Casual Learner English tutor, Burry Port Primary Spanish tutor, Burry Port Secondary Spanish tutor, Burry Port Casual Learner Spanish tutor