Information About Nicola - Warwick tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Nicola's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Nicola:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Nicola (Ms)


Personal Description:

My name is Nicola and I am a private tutor in Warwick specialising in maths. I am mum to two boys at KES (the boys' grammar school in Stratford). Both were tutored by myself for entrance exams and we have been through the secondary school application process.

I have spent the majority of my working life as a programmer, making computer games for the Xbox. I studied for the PGCE, specialising in Maths for secondary, but now I am focussing on what got me interested in teaching - tutoring one to one.

I have lived in the area since before my sons were born and know lots of mums. Through these contacts and my teaching experience, I know something of the schools in and around Leamington / Warwick.

Outside tutoring I develop websites, and I am passionate about dancing (and used to teach that too!)

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a private tutor for over 3 years, teaching a variety of age groups (primary from year 4, secondary school maths and adult maths / computing skills) and all abilities.

I tutored my sons to sit the 11+ and the entrance exams for Warwick school, for which they received offers from both.

Tutoring Approach:

I am friendly and patient, adjusting to the ability of the pupil. A lesson is structured to build on knowledge acquired in previous lessons, and any issues arising from homework which I set each week. With my passion for learning, I encourage the pupil's natural abilities, building their confidence and enabling them to reach their full potential.

If you decide you would like to enter your child for 11+ and/or entrance exams to independent schools, I set a timetable of lessons and homework to assist them. I can also provide guidance on the application procedure. Overall it is about working together with yourself and your child, to make them a happy learner.

I also offer tuition to adults, both in maths and in basic computing skills. Those lessons tend to very bespoke, to match your requirements.

"He said something today, which lead me to ask if he felt, 'more brainy' since he's been going to you, and he said he did, and he's really pleased he goes to you!!" - year 5, maths and English

"Both my boys struggle with maths, and trying to help them at home can be quite challenging. Working with Nicola has helped them to feel more confident about maths and have a go even if its something difficult. Nicola helps support the school learning programme and they both enjoy working with her." - year 5 and year 8, maths

"I am impressed by how well my son concentrates with Nicola. She has achieved more with him in a few weeks than I think I would have achieved in a year. It is much less stressful to leave the tutoring in the hands of an expert." - Year 5, 11+

"Nicola has been very supportive by helping me to fill in the blanks left over from my high school education. This has been crucial to improving my confidence in mathematics, which in turn is allowing me to work towards developing new skills which I can utilise in the workplace." - Mature student, maths

"We are thrilled with how well it has gone and it is a delight to see his progress and enthusiasm. It is a real credit to your teaching skills and I have nothing but praise for Nicola. He has come on this last year in leaps and bounds. Thank you so much." - Year 3, Maths / English – working towards 11+


  • University of Warwick (1991) - 2:1 Bsc Computer Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Warwick Maths tutor, Warwick Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Warwick Entrance Exams tutor, Warwick Secondary Maths tutor, Warwick GCSE Maths tutor, Warwick Casual Learner Maths tutor, Warwick Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Warwick Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor