Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Neil

Neil

Private Maths and English Tuition in Pontyclun

I became a teacher because I wanted to make a difference. I felt I could help give a foundation of learning that would serve well for both present and future. As a person I am patient, reflective and believe strongly in integrity. I am compassionate and enjoy seeing the funny side of life - I attempt to bring these qualities to my work. I am a dedicated, adaptable and friendly practitioner who loves to bring out the best in people. Now as an experienced practitioner, I still have an infectious enthusiasm and passion to see people learn and reach their full potential.

I was brought up in Cardiff and attended Whitchurch High School where Gareth Bale, Sam Warburton and Geraint Thomas all went. I’m a Christian, married to Jifelane. She’s from Mindanao in the Philippines and we met online! I’m a proud dad to two beautiful children, Isaac and Hannah. I’m much travelled, play guitar, write and record songs and enjoy coarse fishing . I am also an author. I published my first children's adventure book 'Moondust' in 2015 after being challenged to write by a friend whilst on a visit to Xian, China!

Tutoring Experience

My professional experience is rooted in the breadth and depth of a teaching adventure which spans over thirty years. Teaching mostly across Key Stage 2 (but also including KS1), it is entwined with close collaboration with colleagues from Reception through to Y6. I am keenly aware of the learning journey through the Primary School. Most of my teaching career has been in England and I have taught in a diverse range of schools. I am familiar with and use a range of teaching and learning strategies and believe that getting to know the child, coupled with quality assessment is the best way to help move them forward. I have also been tutoring 1:1 over the last year and a half, teaching Maths to Y6/7 & Y3 and Advanced/Business English to a European national. Since May 2018 I have been teaching ESL to families across South Wales. At the end of February this year I completed the CELTA course at Cardiff & Vale College, improving my experience and skill to teach both ESOL and TEFL.

Tutoring Approach

I endeavour to use a range of communication strategies which include listening, observing, questioning, explaining, modelling, storytelling and coaching. I have high expectations of myself as a tutor and high hopes and expectations of the learners in my care. I believe that effective teaching and learning comes from a being a reflective and critical practitioner, so whilst I will use tried and tested approaches initially, I will then adapt to suit the learning needs of the tutee. Assessment for learning methods such as strategic questioning, using success criteria and regular quality feedback are embedded into my teaching and learning ethos. As much as possible, I endeavour to make learning fun, stimulating and child/person centred, sensitive to individual needs. Developing close but respectful relationships with the students lays the foundation for being secure enough to take risks and improve their learning.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Portsmouth University1985BachelorsBA (Hons) Geography
Chichester University1987PGCEPass
DES2001OtherThreshold
Northbrook College, Worthing1999CollegeTEFL Certificate

Neil's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Neil
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism