Michael

Michael

Maths and English Tuition in Oxford

I am a long-time teacher, lecturer, examiner and professional tutor with a patient and supportive approach; I have taught 2500+ hours to over 450 students.

I passed my PhD in English at the University of Leicester. I also hold a Masters with Distinction from Oxford Brookes University and a First Class undergraduate degree from Loughborough University. I have a CELTA teaching qualification and a diploma for teaching in higher education.

At home, I live in Oxfordshire with my wife Kate and two stepsons. I enjoy music festivals, running and long walks with our dog Maple.

Tutoring Experience

I have successfully taught at over ten schools, many private students and at university level. This has ranged from general/casual learning to exam and entrance preparation at all levels.

I also hold qualifications in educational psychology and in supporting adult dyslexia.

Tutoring Approach

My approach is friendly, gentle and supportive but extremely professional.

At the heart of my tutoring is how important it is that a student believes in their own ability to learn and to progress. If there is one word I hear my students kindly use to describe my qualities it would be 'patience'. Yet I never feel like my patience is tested - I love the challenge of finding new, innovative ways to help them understand their subject.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Italian
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Leicester2017DoctorateEnglish
Oxford Brookes University2013MastersEnglish (Distinction)
Loughborough University2006BachelorsEnglish (First)
OCVC2011OtherCELTA

Michael's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Michael
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism