Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Matthew

Matthew

I am 31 years old and live with my partner and two daughters in Hertfordshire. I love to read, watch films and I enjoy writing fiction. I have a real passion for history and philosophy and actively keep myself up to date with current affairs.

Tutoring Experience

I have a BA (Hons) in History with Politics at 2:1 level. I currently teach History and Religious Studies / Philosophy at Key Stage 3, Key Stage 4 (GCSE) and Key Stage 5 (A-Level). I have been working in education since 2014 and I have been a qualified teacher since 2018. I am also a GCSE examiner for AQA Religious Studies and I am the head of Religious Studies at the school I currently work at.

Tutoring Approach

I believe that while subject knowledge is important, exam technique is just as crucial to achieving the grades you want at GCSE and A-Level. Practice makes perfect, so looking at how to approach past exam papers will be a large part of our sessions. I also believe that an in-depth knowledge that goes beyond the subject matter covered in the exams is important so you can be confident in the subject. Extra knowledge and understanding shows in your exams and will improve your grade.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Plymouth Univeristy2012BachelorsHistory with Politics
Plymouth University2013MastersCreative Writing
Stoke Damerel Community College2009CollegeReligious Studies A-Level
Stoke Damerel Community College2009CollegeHistory A-Level

Matthew's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0