Skip to main content

Information About Martin - Buckhurst Hill tutor -

Profile Picture

Martin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Martin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Post Graduate Certificate in Education (Homerton College, Cambridge University), enhanced DBS certificate (formerly CRB), 17 years teaching experience (Primary). Deputy Head teacher currently on sabbatical, completing National Professional Qualification for Headship. Taking on students from local state schools only.

Originally from Manchester, I have lived in East/North East London since 2001. I live with my wife and young son in Buckhurst Hill near the Woollard Centre. Currently I am taking a year out of full time education to care for my bubbly toddler son.

Tutoring Experience:

Primary Deputy Head Teacher for 5 years plus 2 years other senior leadership experience. 17 years teaching experience altogether from year 1 to year 6. I am also completing my National Professional Qualification in Headship (NPQH).

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is positive, friendly and patient - children need to enjoy what they are doing to benefit the most! I ask a lot of questions to make sure that the child is constantly challenged and reflecting on their learning. As well as experience, I have a stock of resources and approaches to draw on and can set homework, if required. I will provide all resources.
For maths, we would follow Singaporean techniques which are increasingly popular in UK schools.
For writing, we would focus on writing for pleasure whilst ensuring technical accuracy (such as grammar and punctuation) and consideration of audience.
For reading, we would use the 'reciprocal reading' approach where we delve inside the meaning of a text… I have a limited availability and whether I travel to you or you to me will depend on timings and other appointments, but I will be as flexible as I can. Open to children in Key Stage 1 and 2 who attend state schools for maths and writing and/or reading. I do not tutor for entrance examinations or the 11 plus.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Homerton College, Cambridge University (2002) - Qualified Primary Teacher (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Trinity College, London (1998) - TESOL (Professional) (✔ On File)

Tags: Buckhurst Hill Maths tutor, Buckhurst Hill English tutor, Buckhurst Hill Primary Maths tutor, Buckhurst Hill Primary English tutor