Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468


Private Maths and Physics Tutor in Highgate

I specialise in problem-based learning and critical thinking skills. I hold a Master's in Environmental Technology from Imperial College London, where I did my thesis research on the topic of Science Education. I have previously worked at University College London, doing Biophysics research. I hold a first-class honours degree in Cellular and Molecular Biochemistry from the University of East Anglia and I have previously studied Psychology and Biology in the USA. I have worked as a mentor to first-year university students, providing academic and personal support. I am also mum to a teenager.

Tutoring Experience

** M.Sc. thesis on science education
** Science and Maths tutor at GCSE and A-level (self-employed) for 14 years, with a proven track record of helping students achieve their desired results
** Academic support to university students

Tutoring Approach

If you don't understand the basics, you will have a difficult time trying to move on. This is why I make sure that my students progress logically through the material. I understand the process of learning and I encourage students to find their own answers, not merely memorizing but actually understanding the subject matter. I offer advice on study strategies and techniques alongside the subject tutoring. I provide coaching on exam techniques as necessary. As different people learn differently, I do my best to adapt my approach in a way that makes science and maths accessible to the learner.

PLEASE NOTE There is a minimum charge for visits to the student, according to distance and duration of the lesson.

LanguagesEnglish (British), German, Russian, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File


Imperial College2012MastersM.Sc. Environmental Technology
UEA2008BachelorsB.Sc. in Biochemistry (First Class)
Norwich City College2004CollegeLevel 2 certificate in Adult Learner Support

Maria's Feedback

Published feedback
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Rating from 2 references