Information About Marc - Plymouth tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Marc's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Marc:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £35.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

Map Location

Map for Marc (Mr)


Personal Description:

I had quite a few difficulties as a child at school and did not have a very positive educational experience until one teacher realised my potential and helped me achieve it. Since then I have blossomed and become one of the leading teachers in the UK for Autism and BESD education and a published researcher. One teacher realised my potential, she accessed my strengths and used these to help me over come my barriers. This was my inspiration for becoming a teacher and has influenced me greatly. It has made me develop a child centred approach to teaching which focuses on identify children's strengths and using these to help them overcome their barriers to learning. Through my tutoring I have had to honour help many children achieve their potential and I wish to continue doing so for as many children and young people as possible.

Tutoring Experience:

I am currently an Assistant Head teacher in a local primary school. I am responsible for mentoring other teachers and leading SEN, English and Science within the school. I also hold lead teacher status in Visual maths, Extending Literacy and Autism and I am considered a leading expert in Autism Spectrum Disorders and similar barriers. Indeed, my research has been cited internationally and I am regularly asked to speak at academic and professional conferences.

In addition to this, I am an associate lecturer at the University of Plymouth where I lecture in Psychology, Special Needs Education and Science.

In my previous position I was a local science advisor, supporting both primary and secondary teachers in the delivery of effective science education and I was SENCO and Head of Science.

I have over 10 years experience in teaching and have taught children as young as 4 right through to adults at university. I have an outstanding progress record and this has led to my status as a lead teacher in a range of areas. I started tutoring when I was 18 and have an excellent track record of helping all students to achieve their potential whether they are 8 year olds struggling with literacy or 24 year olds who need support with their degree studies.

Tutoring Approach:

I do not have any one tutoring style. Different people have different learning types which require different teaching styles and so I tailor my tutoring style to the learning type of the tutee. In the first meeting I establish the learning type of the tutee. For children I usually have a preliminary meeting where I assess their learning style and assess the level at which they are at. During this meeting I also speak with the parents and find out what they want to gain from my tutoring sessions. For adults and teenagers I again meet with the tutee and find out which areas they find difficult and what, if any previous knowledge they have. I then draw on their strengths in a subject area to complement and enhance their weaknesses.


  • University of Exeter (2012) - M.Ed Education (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Exeter (2009) - PGCE Science with Psychology (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2007) - B.Sc Psychology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Plymouth (2005) - B.A Primary Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Greek, Greek
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Plymouth Maths tutor, Plymouth English tutor, Plymouth Chemistry tutor, Plymouth Biology tutor, Plymouth Psychology tutor, Plymouth Special Needs tutor, Plymouth Primary Maths tutor, Plymouth Secondary Maths tutor, Plymouth Primary English tutor, Plymouth Secondary English tutor, Plymouth GCSE English tutor, Plymouth Secondary Chemistry tutor, Plymouth GCSE Chemistry tutor, Plymouth Secondary Biology tutor, Plymouth GCSE Biology tutor, Plymouth GCSE Psychology tutor, Plymouth A-Level Psychology tutor, Plymouth University Psychology tutor, Plymouth Casual Learner Psychology tutor, Plymouth Primary Special Needs tutor, Plymouth Secondary Special Needs tutor, Plymouth GCSE Special Needs tutor