Skip to main content

Information About Janet Lynn - Daventry tutor -

Profile Picture

Janet Lynn's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Janet Lynn:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
GCSE £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £25.00
13 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Janet Lynn

Personal Description:

I mainly teach in my own home. My husband is a retired teacher and we have two grown up children. I play golf at least twice a week, go to the gym and love to enter, and of course win, competitions.

I thoroughly enjoy my teaching. I prepare mainly for Rugby High and Lawrence Sheriff but many children have also entered for other Grammar schools and a wide variety of private and Independent schools as well. (Including Common Entrance exams).

My middle name is Lynn and this is what I am know as. I am very happy for the children to call me by this name.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a qualified teacher with over 36 years of teaching experience; this includes 22 years in school and 15 years teaching privately.
I am a dedicated teacher who really enjoys teaching. I teach youngsters who are unable to go to school through illness and am employed part-time by Northamptonshire County Council so have an up-to-date police check.

I trained to be a Food Technology/Home Economics teacher and taught it for 22 years, as well as Maths to GCSE.
I have been tutoring for 15 years and have an excellent pass rate in getting children into both private schools and the grammar schools.
I keep up to date with my subject through regular Continuing Professional Development activities including attending seminars and courses run by the exam boards.

Tutoring Approach:

I am an experienced and approachable tutor - I aim to make lessons fun, whilst ensuring the learner is learning the skills they need to pass their exams at the highest grade they can achieve! I have marked GCSE papers and moderated coursework in the past, which has offered me insights into the exam process and what the examiners are looking for. I also use past papers where applicable to analyse student performance and guide future revision.

Lessons are usually one hour for a single lesson and one and a quarter hours for a group lesson (maximum of 5 children).
For the 11+ and entrance exams I teach in small groups so the cost is reduced in this case to £20.
I can also do group lessons for secondary maths as well.

Lessons take place in my own home but in exceptional circumstances, I may travel up to 10 miles. Travel expenses must be paid in addition to the cost of the lesson.
I teach children from the middle of year 4 through to year 11 for GCSE.
Maths to GCSE including Key Stage 2, 3 and 4.
Home Economics at Key Stage 3 and 4
English at Key Stage 2
Preparation for the 11+ and entrance exams for private schools from year 4 to year 6

I believe that everyone deserves the opportunities learning can bring, and I can work with the learner and parents to rebuild confidence. I am a versatile and friendly teacher who likes to develop effective working relationships with my learners to help them achieve their potential. Lessons are always tailored to the student's needs. I hold a CRB Enhanced Disclosure.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Loughborough University (1988) - BA (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Bradford University (1980) - Certificate of Education (Teaching Certificate) (Professional) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Daventry Maths tutor, Daventry English tutor, Daventry Entrance Exams tutor, Daventry Primary Maths tutor, Daventry GCSE Maths tutor, Daventry Primary English tutor, Daventry Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Daventry Secondary Entrance Exams tutor