Information About Lynda - Birkenhead tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Lynda's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Lynda:





Subjects Taught

Lynda offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Map Location

Map for Lynda (Miss)


Personal Description:

I have been a primary school teacher since qualifying in 2009 and I have gained a wealth of experience working with children from age 3 to age 11. I have lots of teaching experience in various schools as I have done lots of supply work throughout the years. I am highly committed to my job and I have found it very rewarding to have been able to provide support for many children and watch their progress grow.

As I am working on a part time basis, I now have the time to tutor children after school, which is something that I have wanted to do since my career began.

I can also help your child during the school holidays. I can offer classes to prepare the children for the new term, which could be longer than an hour, depending on their age. I am willing to do this on a one to one basis or small groups of up to 5 children-feel free to message me for details. HOWEVER… please be aware that school holidays are my holidays too and so I may not been available for the whole period.

Tutoring Experience:

I have had a lot of experience working with children of various ages. I have taught children with a range of complex and additional needs and have been able to provide them with the necessary support to help them achieve their goals. As a primary school teacher, I have taught a range of subjects, including daily lessons of phonics, English and Maths.

In 2013 I taught a year 2 class that had a diverse range of abilities. I was able to achieve high success with my class in their end of Key Stage One statutory tests (SATS) with many children achieving above their targeted grades.

In my last role, I taught Foundation Stage 2 (ages 4-5). I have excellent knowledge of the curriculum at this stage and have had training on the new curriculum for Key Stage One (ages 5-7) and two (ages 7-11). I therefore have a good understanding of the expectations of children of these ages. This helps me to set targets with the children and fill in gaps in their learning.

Since September I have taught in a mixed yr3 and yr4 class in the afternoons. Teaching part time allows me to continue with the tutoring, which I have really enjoyed. I currently tutor 6 children between the ages of 5 and 8 with reading, writing and maths. They are all doing well and look forward to our sessions together.

Tutoring Approach:

As the Foundation Stage (ages 4-5) is play based, children learn by doing activities and playing games. This has helped me with my creative approach to teaching and it is something that I take on board whilst tutoring. My lessons are fun and interactive and focus on building your child's confidence with their work.

I started my tutoring with my five year old goddaughter. She lacked confidence with phonics and Maths. I see her twice a week and she really looks forward to our sessions together. She has been learning though fun activities and games, including using online resources. Her mum is particularly pleased with her excellent progress in reading. She now knows the first 100 high frequency words and beyond and has also learned her phase 5 sounds. She has recently passed the phonics screening test in school. We are so proud of her hard work! Her confidence is growing, as she is making excellent progress and it is lovely to see her being proud of her achievements.

I have the experience and knowledge to create individual lessons to suit the needs of my learners. Your child will therefore receive tuition that is personal to them and addresses their gaps in their learning. I have helped many classes of children to make good and excellent progress and so I feel that my expertise would help your child to flourish.


  • Liverpool Hope University (2009) - Primary PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • The University of Chester (2007) - English with Psychology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Birkenhead Maths tutor, Birkenhead English tutor, Birkenhead Primary Maths tutor, Birkenhead Primary English tutor