Skip to main content

Information About Luke - Southampton tutor -
(9 reviews)

Profile Picture

Luke's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Luke:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Economics

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £40.00

Map Location

Map for Luke (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hi, I am now a full time Maths Tutor having graduated in August 2014 from the University of Southampton with a 1st class degree in Economics. Economics was the perfect choice for me as I studied it for four years at school and college and it became my favourite subject, along with maths. My university course was 50% maths and 50% economics so it was a nice balance that I really enjoyed doing. If you are interested in my grades, I got 6 A*'s, 6 A's and a C (in art!) at GCSE. This included an A* in Mathematics and an A in Further Mathematics (the highest grade). At A-level, I got an A* in Mathematics with Statistics (scoring above 90% in all of my modules), and A's in Economics and Chemistry. During my GCSE years, I got to the regional final of an economics competition called 'Student Investor' and was a part of my school mathematics team that won the Southampton Deloitte Interschool Maths Challenge. I attended King Edward VI school in Southampton throughout my school and college years, and was awarded 4 different scholarships during my time there, including one for Science, as well as achieving the school's Latin award for two consecutive years.

Outside of tutoring, I love staying active. My main hobbies are football, tennis and going to the gym. I have played for Winchester City FC and AFC Totton and last year worked as a part time football coach for Matthew Le Tissier Natural Coaching. I'm also an avid follower of Southampton Football Club! I used to participate in athletics, specifically middle distance and cross country and qualified for the Hampshire schools cross country as a result of this. I was also a part of my school and college's football, cricket and tennis teams. I also love watching movies and playing video games!

My rate of £40.00 is if I tutor from home.

If travelling I usually charge £45.00 per hour.

Please Note: a petrol charge will apply if I need to travel

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored well over 50 people on a full time basis for over 2 years. As you can see below, I have received 100% positive feedback from tutees I have met through FirstTutors. I helped my younger sister throughout her GCSE's, specifically with Maths. I have also tutored friends during college to help them with our A-level course, as well as a friend at university to help him with the maths on his course. I have strong experience in working with children of all ages. I previously coached football to children from the ages of 5 to 13 on a weekly basis. I was also part of a team for two years that took part in fundraising a holiday for 12 children from the 'Young Carers' charity. The kids were aged 8-12, and for two consecutive years, myself and the team took them on a camping holiday to Swanage. This charity work was without a doubt, one of the most rewarding things I have ever done.

Tutoring Approach:

I really believe a friendly atmosphere is they key in tutoring, and I can promise this. I feel that my age and background in sport means that I can relate to anyone I tutor. From personal experience, I know I strived harder for teachers that believed in me and showed a genuine love of their subject. All I expect from tutees is that they try 100% and show a genuine willingness to learn, as you can't ask for more than that. Whether it's trying to obtain those all important exam results, or just to improve your knowledge of the subject, I really think I can help you achieve your goals!

Qualifications:

  • University of Southampton (2014) - 1st class degree in Economics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • King Edward VI School (2011) - A-level: A* A A (College) (✔ On File)
  • King Edward VI School (2009) - GCSE: 6 A*, 6 A, C (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Southampton Maths tutor, Southampton Economics tutor, Southampton Entrance Exams tutor, Southampton Primary Maths tutor, Southampton Secondary Maths tutor, Southampton GCSE Maths tutor, Southampton A-Level Maths tutor, Southampton GCSE Economics tutor, Southampton A-Level Economics tutor, Southampton Primary Entrance Exams tutor