Skip to main content

Information About Liz - Wrexham tutor

Profile Picture

Liz's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Liz:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £28.00

Map Location

Map for Liz (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a passion for the subject of English and Linguistics and thoroughly enjoy teaching it at a variety of levels. I'm very friendly and reliable and have a positive outlook on life. Outside work I enjoy running, reading, walks in the countryside and spending time with my family and friends.

Tutoring Experience:

I studied for my TEFL qualification in 2004 and enjoyed private tutoring for some time in Australia. After a career in the media, I then moved back to my home town of Wrexham and studied for my PGCE to teach in Further Education.
I worked at Yale College whilst studying and taught Level 2 English, GCSE, A-Level English Language and Level 3 Communication. I have continued to teach at Coleg Cambria and have taught A Level English Literature, A Level English Language and Literature and GCSE English.
I have also been an examiner for WJEC, marking GCSE English Language papers. This has given me invaluable insight into the examining process, meaning I can pass on this knowledge to students.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a firm but very fair approach to teaching in general. I tend to get on well with my students but I make the boundaries and expectations clear from the beginning to ensure the best results.
I'm extremely patient and I'm willing to explain the apostrophe in 11 different ways if it means a student feels comfortable with their understanding of it. I also give students a lot of feedback, both verbally and written, to ensure they understand their mistakes and can move forward.
I like to make sure my students are aware that everyone learns in different ways so that they can understand their own learning style. I believe this helps with their confidence.

Qualifications:

  • Glyndwr University (2013) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Roehampton (2003) - 2:2 BA English Language and Linguistics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Wrexham English tutor, Wrexham Primary English tutor, Wrexham GCSE English tutor, Wrexham A-Level English tutor