Laura

Laura

Lincoln Tutor

Education has always been a focal point in my life and even after I started my teaching career, I continued to complete post-graduate qualifications alongside my work. I love the buzz of learning and grasping new ideas. Even better than this is the buzz from helping others to also feel this way! I am especially passionate about my subject of Sociology and am completing a PhD in this field alongside my teaching job.

In my six years of teaching I have had the pleasure of teaching a range of abilities and levels giving me valuable experience in differentiation. Tutoring sessions are tailored to the individual which means they will receive the best possible learning experience for their needs. I have been with my current employer (a FE college) for five years and prior to this taught in a secondary school.

Tutoring Experience

Over five years of experience course leading and teaching A-level Sociology
Four years experience course leading and teaching A-level Anthropology
Additional experience of teaching PSHE (secondary), BTEC Health and Social Care, BTEC Child Care, Criminology, Access to HE (sociology/study skills) and English as a Second Language (secondary level). Most recently I have gained experience in HE seminar teaching (sociology)

I have been private tutoring for three years now

I also mark AS/A2 sociology exam papers for a national exam board and have been a team leader for an AS unit

I have consistently been graded a 1 or 2 for my teaching

Tutoring Approach

I believe that learning should be stimulating and enjoyable. Everyone has the potential to achieve and I believe this can be made possible with the correct support and accomodation of individual need. I see myself as a very approachable tutor and see part of my tutoring role as ensuring learners feel comfortable and welcome. Learners will be stretched in their learning where appropriate - this will also be done in a way which is enjoyable for them, boosting their confidence and benefiting their progression. I don't think the tutoring experience should end once the face-to-face session does and am happy to feedback on work and offer guidance by e-mail outside of tutoring hours.

In addition to the subjects offered, I can also offer tutoring in Anthropology for which there was no drop-box option! :)

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Nottingham Trent University2011MastersEducation (distinction)
Nottingham Trent University2008PGCELifelong Learning (pass)
University of York2007MastersWomen's Studies (pass)
Bath Spa University2006BachelorsSociology (2.1)

Laura's Feedback

Feedback
16
Published feedback
15
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Laura
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
CitizenshipOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£18£17.10
SociologyOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£18£17.10
GCSE£18£17.10
A-Level£20£19
University£20£19
Casual Learner£20£19
Media / Communication StudiesOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£18£17.10
GCSE£18£17.10
Study SkillsOne-to-oneOnline
GCSE£15£14.25
A-Level£15£14.25
University£18£17.10
Casual Learner£18£17.10