Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Kirsty

Kirsty

I am a well qualified Primary School and EFL teacher with over 15 years of experience. I have taught in the state sector and in Independent Prep Schools as well as international settings and I have worked with children from the age of 5 through to adults. I graduated from Warwick University with a degree in Ancient History and Archaeology followed by a Primary PGCE from the University of Roehampton. I have also gained an MA in Education through the University of Bath. I am able to build strong relationships with my students in order to raise their confidence and attainment levels. I ensure that my lessons are interactive, enjoyable and meaningful to allow students to reach their potential whilst having fun.

I love to travel and have relished the great opportunities of teaching in Spain, Thailand and the Czech Republic. I also love cycling, camping, swimming, music, art and crafts, drawing and reading. I am a mum to three young boys.

Tutoring Experience

I have worked as a Primary School teacher for 18 years. I have also had the pleasure of tutoring a variety of students and helping them to achieve excellent results in SATs tests or providing them with that bit of extra help and confidence needed to succeed in the classroom or as Home Education students. In addition I have worked with students from across the globe, helping them to improve their English language and communication skills.

Tutoring Approach

Each student is different, not only in terms of their needs but also in terms of their learning style. I believe it is necessary to set up a clear learning programme to establish goals based on the individual’s strengths and weaknesses and to ensure that both confidence and attainment are improved. I am patient and supportive and I include fun activities in each session to ensure that students enjoy their learning and strive to achieve their best. Through assessing each student's starting point and the progress they make I am able to adapt learning programmes and set appropriate challenges depending on the needs of the individual.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Roehampton2001PGCEPrimary PGCE
Coventry college2000OtherTrinity TESOL (Teaching English to Students of Other Languages)
University of warwick2000BachelorsBA (hons) Ancient History and Archaeology
University of Bath2013MastersMA in Education

Kirsty's Feedback

Feedback
5
Published feedback
5
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0