Kate

Kate

Bordon Tutor

I am an inspiring and experienced tutor of children and young people up to GCSE in English, French, Latin and Maths, with 100% pass rate in coaching students to pass 11+, school entrance and Common Entrance exams. Children typically achieve at least two grades higher at GCSE than they have been predicted at school. I love tutoring - developing an encouraging relationship with a student who needs extra help or one who needs extra challenge, providing them with engaging lessons and homework that are focused on exactly the skills they need to develop, understanding the difficulties they face as learners - all in a warm and supportive environment. In addition, I am happy to act as mentor and facilitator, and to assist students with university personal statements and applications.

An honours graduate from King's College, London in French Language and Literature, I am currently a part-time postgraduate student in English Literature and have been learning a foreign language for the past six years so I understand very well what it's like to be a learner. I use this personal experience to tailor lessons and expectations so that each child makes progress in a sustainable and supported way.

Tutoring Experience

I have nearly 20 years' experience of teaching English Language and Literature, Maths, French and Latin to children from age 5 to 16. Most of my new students find me by recommendation from existing students, and I have an excellent reputation for my teaching style, thoroughness, and ability to help children exceed their own and their parents' expectations. I am experienced at teaching both one-to-one and in small groups, face to face and over FaceTime/Skype. My success rate is 100% at tutoring students through their independent school entry exams, Common Entrance and 11+. I have 100% success rate with students re-sitting GCSEs. In addition, I help A-level students write their Personal Statement.

Tutoring Approach

I believe in inspiring and supporting learners of all ages. I provide fun and lively lessons and offer plenty of encouragement for students to enjoy learning and to desire to do their best. I create a flexible, one-to-one service so that we create a mode and a pace of learning that suits the student, geared to their ultimate goal. I am happy to work to the student's curriculum or to provide an alternative approach that puts extra fun back into learning. I am happy to use students' materials, to adapt them or to use my own. I like using games as a learning tool with students but am happy to use worksheets, too, if that is what students would like. I see myself a part of the student-parent-school team and communicate easily and frequently with parents over the progress of their child.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

King's College, London1985BachelorsFrench with German

Kate's Feedback

Feedback
13
Published feedback
13
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Kate
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£42
Secondary£45
Casual Learner£45
English
Primary£42
Secondary£45
GCSE£45
Casual Learner£45
French
Primary£42
Secondary£45
GCSE£45
Casual Learner£45
Italian
Primary£42
Secondary£45
Latin
Primary£42
Secondary£45
Casual Learner£45
Entrance Exams
Primary£45
Secondary£45