Skip to main content

Information About Julie - Gillingham tutor -

Profile Picture

Julie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Julie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £45.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I live and have taught in MEDWAY and KENT since I qualified as a primary school teacher.
Until recently, I worked for the Local Authority as Manager of the Learning Support Service and as a Specialist Teacher.

I am an enthusiastic and committed teacher, interested in new and creative ways to make learning more personalised and successful for my students.

I love teaching and working alongside children who find learning more difficult.
Teaching has never been just 'a job', but more a 'way of life', which has been both rewarding and frustrating. Rewarding, because I have had the opportunity to make a difference, and frustrating because it saddens me to see education treated like a social experiment or, even worse, a business, with too many children failing to reach their potential.

Currently, I divide my teaching expertise across private tutoring and supply teaching.

Private tutoring gives me the chance to do what I am good at - help learners overcome obstacles to learning and achieve greater levels of success, confidence and motivation.

Supply teaching across the primary age range provides me with current classroom experience, which adds to my credibility with parents as someone who can help them ask the right questions to get appropriate interventions in school.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for nearly 30 years with a varied career, as a class teacher, Senco and a dyslexia specialist in a peripatetic teaching service.
I enjoy working with both primary and secondary school children, especially those with dyslexia and ASD.

I am a member of PATOSS, the Professional Association for Teachers and Assessors for Students with Specific Learning Difficulties.

As a Specialist Teacher, I am qualified to carry out diagnostic assessments for dyslexia and dyscalculia and am available to carry out screening and full diagnostic assessments. Please contact me for further details about availability and charges.

I read widely and attend courses, seminars and conferences to maintain my Continuing Professional Development (CPD).

I have worked as a private tutor in the past and enjoy the unique and positive relationship between tutor and child/family.

I have recently completed a 150 Hour TEFL course with 99.82% and a glowing letter of reference. I can offer bespoke lessons in English as a Foreign or Additional Language to children and adults.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach as a dyslexia specialist is to provide personalised, multi-sensory tuition, that is structured, cumulative, delivered in small steps, with time built in for over learning, reinforcement and revision.

I am very patient, with a warm personality and good sense of humour.
Confidence and self esteem for my students are equally important factors to develop alongside academic skills.

I want my pupils to enjoy what they are learning and to succeed, so I am adaptable in my teaching approaches. Lessons are interactive and involve learners in 'learning how to learn' best.

Learning materials are tailored to suit the interest and needs of each child, to build on their strengths and support their weaknesses. Where possible, we try to see it, hear it, think about it, say it, do it, touch it and move it!

I am very approachable, listen to parents and encourage them to be involved in their child's learning. I am happy to advise parents on activities, resources, strategies and approaches to support their child's learning, self esteem and confidence.

I am happy to liaise with class teachers and the SENCO in your child's school.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • PATOSS (2014) - Assessment Practising certificate (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • OCR (2012) - Post Grad Diploma (Spld) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Christchurch, Canterbury (1995) - Post Grad Diploma SEN (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Leeds University (1986) - B.Ed Hons English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Gillingham Maths tutor, Gillingham English tutor, Gillingham Entrance Exams tutor, Gillingham Special Needs tutor, Gillingham English (Foreign Language) tutor, Gillingham Primary Maths tutor, Gillingham Primary English tutor, Gillingham Secondary English tutor, Gillingham Casual Learner English tutor, Gillingham Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Gillingham Primary Special Needs tutor, Gillingham Secondary Special Needs tutor, Gillingham Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Gillingham Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Gillingham Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor