Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Josie

Josie

Hi, I'm Josie - I'm a tutor, actor, writer, director and I work in freelance radio production!

Three years ago I graduated from UCL with a BA in English (Upper Second Class Honours, with a first in my dissertation). UCL is one of the top universities in the UK to study English and I feel very lucky to have learnt as much as I did there. My degree taught me a huge deal about literature, analysing text and writing essays, and I love to share some of this with my English tutees. The quality of English teaching I had until university was extremely varied, and I know it can be difficult to engage with the subject if it is not taught correctly - which is where I love to help out!

I also studied Maths at A-Level, achieving an A*. I believe that Maths can be a really rewarding subject at all levels when you find a way to understand the processes, but can often seem unnecessarily intimidating at first.

I've just graduated from an MA in Acting at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. I have taken many performance qualifications in the past, some of which qualify me to teach performance. I also work as a drama facilitator, workshop leader and assistant director with the National Youth Theatre.

I achieved straight A*s in my GSCES and A*AA (Maths, English, French) at A-Level. I also achieved A* in an Extended Project Qualification, A in both Citizenship and Theatre Studies at AS Level, and Distinction in an AQA Baccalaureate.

Tutoring Experience

Since September 2016 I've been tutoring in English and Maths to a range of ages - from as young as 3, right through to GCSE and A-Level (and some Adult learners too!) - I've had over 20 clients and had nothing but great feedback.

I've had a great set of results from my students who took exams last year. Both my English A-Level tutees achieved an 'A', as did my GCSE Maths tutee, and my GCSE English tutee achieved level '8' and '7' in Lit and Lang respectively.

Furthermore, during my time at secondary school and sixth form I worked as an English mentor, Gifted and Talented student counsellor and peer mentor (for friendship or emotional issues), giving me a wealth of experience talking to and tutoring children one-on-one. In 2011 I was awarded the ASDAN peer mentoring award.

During my BA I also worked as a nanny to two girls aged 11 and 14 (when I started they were 8 and 11), and often had to help them with homework, so gained a great deal of tutoring experience from that.

I am the holder of a Musical Theatre Diploma which technically qualifies me to teach performance, and I hold a clean DBS check.

Tutoring Approach

At the heart of my attitude to learning is the belief that it must be approached constructively and positively. I am a very positive person and I believe that, regardless of ability, the focus of tutoring should always be on making progress and celebrating that progress. If you inspire a positive attitude in a student and make them feel capable of improving, they will be more motivated to learn and far more likely to work independently than if you make learning an arduous and difficult time.

Of course this does not mean you cannot set targets and work hard to achieve those targets - I always start tutoring a student by asking what their aspirational goal would be and would tailor sessions to work towards it. By regularly evaluating a student's progress and recapping what has been learnt, I hope to cement the content already learnt as well as show the student the progress they have made.

The actual content of a tutoring session will always depend on the wants and needs of the tutee, and the way in which they best learn. I am happy to simply go over classwork/homework if that is the most helpful approach but am be equally happy to devise unrelated work for a session.

I am always prepared, positive and patient, and work hard to help my students reach their full potential. I set my prices relative to the preparation needed for each subject. I will always endeavour to re-read texts if I'm teaching them and this takes many hours, as each student will need teaching on different texts.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University College London2016BachelorsEnglish (2:1)
Sexey's School Bruton2013CollegeA-Level: Maths (A*), English (A), French (A), EPQ (A*), AQA Baccaulareate (Distinction) AS Levels: Citizenship (A), Drama (A)
Ansford School2011SchoolGCSEs: English Lit (A*), English Lang (A*), Core Science (A*), Additional Science (A*), Maths (A*), History (A*), French (A*). Short-Course GSCES: RE (A*), Citizenship (A*). BTEC Double Awards: CiDA (ICT) (Distinction*Distinction*), Drama (Distinction*Dis

Josie's Feedback

Feedback
8
Published feedback
8
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Josie
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
50% discount on your first lesson!
MathsIn-personOnline
Primary£45£42.75
Secondary£45£42.75
GCSE£45£42.75
EnglishIn-personOnline
Primary£45£42.75
Secondary£45£42.75
GCSE£45£42.75
A-Level£50£47.50
University£50£47.50
English (Foreign Language)In-personOnline
Primary£40£38
Secondary£40£38
GCSE£40£38
A-Level£40£38
University£40£38
Casual Learner£40£38