Information About Jonathan - Cambridge tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Jonathan's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Jonathan:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£20.00
Secondary £25.00£20.00
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £25.00£20.00
University £25.00£20.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Map Location

Map for Jonathan (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have BA (Hons) and MA degrees in English and am an experienced EFL teacher. A native speaker with highly advanced skills in all forms of English, I am a patient, kind and approachable teacher. I really enjoy helping students to reach their learning goals and to feel confident in their command of English. I can provide expert tuition in English to non-native speakers at any level.

I also work as a proofreader and editor of academic work at degree level and beyond, for students and academics. I am passionate about helping students to feel confident in their written command of English, verbal communication and understanding.

I enjoy tailoring lessons to the needs and interests of my students.

Please note that from September 10th 2016 I will only be offering online lessons (because I will be working abroad).

Tutoring Experience:

I have been working as a private tutor in Cambridge since July 2014, teaching English to students in their homes. During this time I've taught non-native speakers of English from a variety of different cultural and linguistic backgrounds, and with varying levels of English proficiency.

I have worked as an EFL teacher abroad, teaching English to students from 4-19 years old in Kenya, helping them to improve in all aspects of the English language.

I do freelance work as a professional proofreader and editor in academic written English, working with international authors and postgraduate students who have English as a second language. This involves editing and fact-checking English language textbooks, and assisting students with perfecting their written skills and grammar. I enjoy not only helping students with immediate problems but explaining any common and recurring mistakes, so that they improve long-term and can enhance the quality of their work themselves in future.

Tutoring Approach:

I will want to assess the student's level, learning aims and any particular issues or areas of interest first, so that I can design tuition that will meet their specific learning needs. I am a friendly, approachable and kind teacher, who is very patient and encouraging. I have studied abroad in Germany, and lived in Kenya and India, and also have a wide experience of working with international students in UK universities, so I understand well how challenging it is to learn a second language, and the difficulties of living, working and studying in a foreign country. I am sensitive to cultural differences and appreciate the many different backgrounds that students learning English can come from.


  • Goldsmiths, University of London (2012) - MA Comparative Literature (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Bangor (2009) - BA English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge (2004) - 4 A Levels AABB (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Linton Village College, Cambridgeshire (2002) - 10 GCSEs: 8 A*s, 2 As (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German
Availability: Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cambridge English tutor, Cambridge English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge Casual Learner English tutor, Cambridge Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Cambridge Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor