Skip to main content

Information About John - Peterborough tutor

Profile Picture

John's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated John:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

John offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £40.00

Map Location

Map for John (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a very experienced, enthusiastic and friendly teacher and tutor. I have been a teacher of mathematics since 1976 and made a first attempt at retirement when I was 60 in 2013. However, when I did try to retire I really missed the enjoyment of helping people to achieve their mathematical potential, so since then I have done some part-time teaching as well as 1:1 tutoring. The pupils I have tutored either at school, at their home or online by Skype have always enjoyed my help and found the lessons fun and engaging. As a result of my tutoring my tutees have been able to work at their mathematics with new-found confidence and have achieved success beyond their expectations. I`m willing to travel up to 10 miles from home, but I am also an enthusiast for Maths-by-Skype, which, of course, makes it possible for me to teach anyone anywhere.

Tutoring Experience:

Since starting out on my career as a Newly Qualified Teacher I have taught in several comprehensive schools in Nottinghamshire, North Wales and Peterborough. Each career move was due to promotion. I was Head of Mathematics at Rhyl High School in North Wales from 1989 - 2000. At this point in my career I began work as a consultant teacher and was quickly promoted to Senior Mathematics adviser for Lincolnshire. Since 'retirement' I have worked as a Teacher of Mathematics (covering a maternity leave) at a local renowned Independent School for Girls and for the last two years I have worked part-time at a Special School as a teacher and as a curriculum adviser. Throughout my career I have been involved in tutoring a few students each year, an activity which has provided success for the individual students and lots of job satisfaction for me.

Tutoring Approach:

Although I am very enthusiastic about the subject, I'm not a 'nerd' and I understand that learning and doing mathematics is not everyone's favourite activity. I'm very friendly and approachable person, and since my name is 'Mr Bean', I'd have to have a good sense of humour, wouldn't I? As I've been a very successful teacher for many years, I know which topics and procedures in mathematics people have difficulty with and I've got some tried and tested methods to help overcome those difficulties as well as being able to make maths interesting, engaging and sometimes even fun, Also, I'm sure I've helped most of my pupils gain an extra 10% in exams because they've learnt from me about good examination technique. However, what I most relish about being a tutor is the opportunity to help a pupil gain in confidence and see them achieve and enjoy mathematical success!

Qualifications:

  • University of Bangor (North Wales) (2000) - M.Ed (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Nottingham (1976) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Manchester (1974) - 2:2 in Computer Science and Maths (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peterborough Maths tutor, Peterborough GCSE Maths tutor, Peterborough A-Level Maths tutor