Information About Joe - Paddington tutor -
(6 reviews)

Profile Picture

Joe's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Joe:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £120.00
Secondary £120.00
GCSE £120.00
A-Level £120.00
University £120.00
Casual Learner £120.00

Map Location

Map for Joe (Mr)


Personal Description:

I studied Classics at King's College, Cambridge, graduating in 2009. I then trained as a teacher at Queens' College, Cambridge, graduating with a PGCE in 2010. I have been a private tutor since 2009, and have now clocked up hundreds of hours' tutoring experience. In addition to my school-age students, I supervise Cambridge University undergraduates in Latin and Ancient Greek. I tutor both languages to degree-level standard in London, Cambridge and on Skype. I love Classics, and my main aim is to make my lessons fun and inspirational.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring Latin and Ancient Greek intensively for the past 7 years, and have now had hundreds of hours of teaching experience. I have taught towards all major public exams in both languages, such as Common Entrance, GCSE, AS, A2, SAT, Pre-U and even BA (i.e. University exams). I am familiar with the entrance processes for a number of independent and grammar schools, and have had a lot of experience teaching towards scholarship papers. I have also taught the languages to those who have decided to learn them purely for fun! In addition to my face-to-face teaching, I have taught extensively on Skype, and have built up an array of handy techniques to get the most from the online format. I was Head of Latin at a school in Bury St Edmunds for two years (September 2011 to July 2013). Since October 2010, I have been supervising Cambridge undergraduates in Latin and Ancient Greek (colleges so far have included Pembroke, Downing, Homerton, Queens', King's, Murray Edwards, Newnham, Caius, Peterhouse, St John's, Emmanuel and Trinity). I also own and run a private tuition agency, which I set up in 2011, managing a team of eight staff members and over 500 inspirational tutors.

Tutoring Approach:

My teaching style is structured and thorough. I start every lesson with a five minute recap of the key content of the previous session, checking how much the tutee remembers. A typical lesson will then consist of a translation, in which I ask the tutee to note down each unknown word as it is encountered and to devise a memory trick which will help them to recall the word in a five minute test at the end of the lesson. Together with the tutee, I will then pick a grammar point which stood out in the translation exercise as requiring the most immediate attention. We will spend five to ten minutes working on that, with the tutee's understanding tested with some reinforcement exercises. At the end of the lesson we will recap all the new vocabulary and grammar which was covered, and I will typically set a manageable 20 - 30 minute homework for the next session based on what was covered in the lesson. Every lesson is of course different, and tailored to the tutee's requirements, but I find this approach works in the vast majority of cases. I consider grammar to be crucially important, but treat it as a means to an end and always emphasise the ways in which it can be usefully applied to translation rather than learned in isolation. I believe that any tutee can excel in Latin and Greek with a little guidance and a decent amount of independent work. Above all, I strive to make my lessons fun and enjoyable. I love my subject and want all of my tutees to love it too.


  • Queens' College, Cambridge (2010) - PGCE Classics (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • King's College, Cambridge (2009) - MA Classics (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Greek, Latin
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Paddington Latin tutor, Paddington Primary Latin tutor, Paddington Secondary Latin tutor, Paddington GCSE Latin tutor, Paddington A-Level Latin tutor, Paddington University Latin tutor, Paddington Casual Learner Latin tutor