Joanne

Joanne

Derby Tutor

Having worked in both the UK and abroad, I have extensive experience of working in a wide variety of situations with many different kinds of students. In addition to an initial honours degree in Biological Chemistry, I also have a Post Graduate Certificate in Education (4-11) and a Cert. TESOL. Being committed to lifelong learning, myself, I have learnt a number of foreign languages and have recently qualified with a MA in Peace and Reconciliation. This makes me especially well equipped to cater for the unique needs of a broad range of students.

Tutoring Experience

I have 25 years teaching experience, covering all levels of primary education. I worked as a marker for KS 2 SATS for five years, in addition to coaching children for the tests. I have extensive experience in working with children whose first language is not English.

I also have taught English as a Second Language to both adults and children on a private basis for over 5 years. I have extensive experience in preparing students for the IELTS Exam.

Tutoring Approach

Whilst being very friendly and approachable, I am also firmly committed to helping students achieve high standards. I am comfortable teaching both individuals and small groups of students working at a similar level. I am also keen to work closely with parents to enable them to get the maximum out of the investment, by helping them further developing their strategies for supporting their children's academic progress further.

LanguagesEnglish (British), Persian
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Ulster, Coleraine1988BachelorsBiological Chemistry (HONS)
Stranmillis College, Belfast1989PGCEPrimary Education (4-11)
Park Lane College, Leeds2000OtherCert. TESOL
Coventry University2014MastersPeace & Reconciliation

Joanne's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Joanne
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£23
English
Primary£23
Combined Science
Primary£23
English (Foreign Language)
University£25
Casual Learner£25