Jane

Jane

Wigan Tutor

I am a very experienced teacher with approximately 20 years teaching experience of Psychology and Sociology. I have also worked for a well known London based company during the school holidays delivering bespoke exam booster revision sessions to small groups of students. As I have around 18 years of examining experience I have a good understanding of the skills that are needed to be successful at A level and GCSE!

In addition to tutoring, I offer a script / essay marking service which is always handy when it comes to marking mock exams! So please contact me with your requirements and I can give you a fee per script or essay.

I am also available to do revision sessions / day interventions with small groups of students. Once again, just contact me with your requirements.

I am friendly and approachable and like to think I go the extra mile for my students! I often provide help outside of scheduled sessions without charging additional fees.

I am available to travel through most of Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside as I live very close to the M6, and work during the day in Bolton. My hourly fee take into account my travelling costs, so I feel that I offer value for money.

Tutoring Experience

As mentioned I have taught students of all ages, although my I mainly work with A level students aged 16-19 year olds. My experience is very varied as I have taught everything from access courses and GCSE's up to A level and first year undergraduates.
I have also worked as an examiner for over 18 years, marking GCSE and AS / A level Psychology & Sociology papers. I have a very good knowledge of the AQA specifications, but I have also had experience in delivering WJEC, OCR and EDEXCEL.

The new linear examinations are proving to be quite challenging for a number of students, and centres, but my students achieved high grades last year - in the first year of this linear assessment - so I know that I am preparing them well!

Tutoring Approach

I would like to think that I have a student centred approach to tutoring and like to work hard for my students. I like to create individual study plans which are made to suit each student in order to support the students that I tutor, and I set regular homework to assess progress.
If you have any questions please just ask!

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Manchester University2005MastersApplied Psychology
IFL2013QTSQTLS
Bolton University1993PGCEPGCE
University of Law (Chester)2016OtherGraduate Diploma in Law

Jane's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
9
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Jane
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Psychology
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
University£35
Casual Learner£30
Law
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Sociology
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£30