Jamie

Private Maths and English Tutor in Hounslow

I am 44 years of age, married and living and working in London all my life. Prior to being a Primary school teacher, I worked for 5 years in the RAF. My profession in the RAF was an Assistant Air Traffic Controller. I love to travel, visiting over 70 countries worldwide. I enjoy watching and playing Football and my favourite football team is Arsenal.

Tutoring Experience

I have been a Primary school teacher for 14 years, mainly working in Years 4, 5 and 6. I have worked in 3 differing schools in London. At present I work as a Year 5 teacher in a big 4 Form entry Primary school in Wembley, North West London. I enjoy working with Gifted and Talented children, although I have vast experience of teaching SEN ( Special Educational Needs) and EAL ( English as an additional language) children. I have strengths in both English and Maths and have a good subject knowledge in Years 4, 5 and 6. I feel that my modelling of writing or how to tackle a Maths question is extremely strong.

Tutoring Approach

I have a professional and patient approach to tutoring. I consolidate topics and strategies until a child has grasped a concept. I know when to extend a child, to move them on to the next stage. I have a range of resources that I can use at all levels/standards of tutoring. I have previous experience of tutoring Year 6 children at my present school.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Kingston University2004BachelorsB.A Honours in Primary Teaching
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught